US Rat Sites

This is a long list  of all sites Will get the searches working shortly

 

statesitelocationinfo
ALABAMAOldest HotelMontgomeryOldest Hotel still standing in the south -- It is no longer a hotel
ALABAMAtown of NeedmoreNeedmore
ALABAMAHubCap KingTalladegaThe "Hubcap King" at last count had something like 4.5 million. He recently married his tenth wife and will likely be crowned the new Hubcap Queen.
ALABAMAHuge Metal ChickenBrundrigeAlso other sculptures
ALABAMAGiant CrossHuntsville70' or larger on Monte Sano. You will have to work to find it
ALABAMAGiant Peach Water TowerClanton
ALABAMAThe Edible town of AlmondAlmond
ALABAMALady Liberty ReplicaBirmingham
ALABAMACross GardenPratteville
ALABAMAMisspelled town of PoarchPoarch
ALABAMAMajor Grumbles RestaurantSalma
ALABAMASatrun 1-B Rocketnear ArdmoreI-65 South of Tenn line
ALABAMASermon in the Stonesnear Cullman
ALABAMAEccentric town of Smut EyeSmut Eye
ALABAMAJoe's Truck StopFort PayneIn 1935 Joe Faulkner built a house on Fifth Street, directly in front of a mountain road. This was fine till around 1950 when Alabama designated the road as state Hwy 35, and the trucks started using it. In the first year thirteen trucks went through Joe's yard. They took his row of trees one by one. Diverse loads were spillled into Joe's yard, porch, and roof. Chickens, Watermelons,Cows, Logs, Lumber, stee, and even three circus trucks. In 1959 after the state failed to make good their promise to remedy the situation, Joe built a four-foot thick concrete wall reinforced with wire,grader blades,steel pipe, and the chassis's from two Dodge trucks. It is only about two foot tall so loads still spill into the yard, but stops the trucks. Local kids have named the wall Joe's Truck Stop.
ALABAMAGravity HillSylacaugayour car will roll up hill -- Not sure what you will do with your bike though
ALABAMAMotn FieldTuskegeeHome of the 66th AF flying school
ALABAMABoll Weevil MemorialEnterpriseIn 1919 they were building the new main street in Enterprise and had the road all torn up, and were putting in a Statue of Liberty or similar monument. The locals got tired of answering the same question all the time "Whatcha gonna put there?" As someone started saying it was a monument to the Boll Weevil as a joke. When a salesman went to Mongomery and told a local newspaper. A big write-up was done on this. Of course the town could'nt back down and so the bronze plaque at the reads -"In profound appreciation of the Boll Weevil and what it has doane as the herald of prosperity, this monument is erected by the citizens of Enterprise
ALABAMACivil Rights MemorialMontgomery
ALABAMAUnclaimed Luggage CenterScottsborogreat place for steals and deals
ALABAMAMa'Cille's Museum of MiscellaneaGordo
ALABAMAWorld's largest HogDothan
ALABAMAWorld's Largest BrickMontgomery
ALABAMAWorld's largest CatfishTroy
ALABAMAVulcanBirminghamWorld's Largest Iron Man
ALABAMAWhite House of the ConfederacyMontgomery
ALABAMATown of RodentownRodentown
ALASKASkinny Dick's Halfway Innsouth of Fairbanks30 miles south of Fairbanks on Park Hwy
ALASKASanta's WorkshopNorth Poleabut 10mi south of Fairbanks
ALASKApicture of you at the Artic CircleArtic Circle
ALASKASlime BankAleutians
ALASKAThe Igloosouth of Cantwellabout 12mi south of Cantwell
ALASKATown of ChickenChicken
ALASKATown of FoxFox
ALASKATerminus of Trans Alaska PipelineValdez
ALASKAWorld's Largest MuklukTokMukluk Land
ALASKAThe Whaling WallAnchorage
ALASKAMile 0 of the Trans Alaska PipelineDeadhorse
ALASKAFilthy Hillaleutians
ALASKAGerm HillAleutians
ALASKAWorld's Largest SquirrelCreek
ARIZONA20 ft Wine BottleTuscon20 foot grapevine-encrusted purple concrete wine bottle, Boondocks Lounge on Campbell St
ARIZONAMystery CastlePhoenixNo trip to Phoenix would be complete without a trip to the Mystery Castle, located on the southern edge of town. The "Castle" is really a home, roughly 50-some years old, constructed of materials the builder scavenged and scrounged from his desert surroundings, to create an incredible living space.
ARIZONA Yuma Territorial Prison State Historic ParkYumaAlso a Haunted Place. There are two predominate places within the prison that the spirits were active: the dark cell and the visitors' museum. The dark cell hosts a ghost that likes to pinch; attracted to children and the color red. There are supposedly two spirits in the visitors' museum; a woman who sings quite early in the morning and a poltergeist who likes to play with the money; he's attracted to dimes.
ARIZONAThe Bead MuseumPrescott"Learn Culture from beads" 140 S Montezuma
ARIZONAValley of the MoonTuscona unique area built by George Phar Legler in the 1920s for the purpose of bringing mental and spiritual relaxation to visitors. Mineralized rock cliffs, caves, pools, and garden miniatures have blended with tropic and desert flora to create what Mr. Legler called the 'Fantasy Touch of Three' (Lewis Carroll, Edgar Allen Poe, and Robert Louis Stevenson)
ARIZONADinosaur TracksMoenkopiThere are 160 million-year old dinosaur tracks along a riverbed in, 5 miles west of Tuba City
ARIZONAWorld's Smallest ChurchYumaHighway 95, 10 miles outside of Yuma
ARIZONAWorld's largest RosebushTombstone
ARIZONAWigWam MotelHolbrooka great stop not to mention a great place to sleep, A must find! 520-524-3048
ARIZONAFire Fighter Hall of FamePhoenix
ARIZONAThe ThingCochiseHitler's staff car
ARIZONAGiant Pair of IndiansPiccachoOutside a tourist Indian trading post
ARIZONAWorld's Largest Kachina DollCarefreeA few miles to the northeast of the World's Largest Sundial, in the residential community of Tonto Hills, stands a 39-foot-tall Kachina doll, unquestionably the world's largest. We think. There are other big Kachina dolls spread around the southwest. It's a familiar bit of pseudo-Native American signage for motels, drive-ins and trading posts. This one stands in a circular rock garden facing south, the dry heated breeze, the almost solitude of the giant Kachina. There's not much else to do here; an adjacent vacant art studio is reportedly up for sale.
ARIZONANatural Rock FormationsWikiupLook just like Snoopy. Between Phoenix and Las Vegas on Hwy 89 near Wikiup. On the west side of highway. It's about 30-40 feet tall
ARIZONACowlic
ARIZONAMission San Xavier del BacTucsonabout 9 miles out of Tuscon. Renowned as the most beautiful Spanish mission in North America
ARIZONAMetor CityWinslowOld rt 66 about 14 miles w. of Winslow -- ask for Judy, a nice lady
ARIZONATombstone CemetaryTombstoneGraves of those who died at the Shoot out at the OK Corral
ARIZONASix foot Statue of man with guitarWinslowThis corner became famous when it was included in the Eagles song and the lyrics " Well, I'm standing on the corner in Winslow AZ / such a fine sight to see/It's a girl, my Lord / in a flatbed bed ford/ Slowing down to to take a look at me.
ARIZONAGiant Cattle SkullAmadoLonghorn Grill
ARIZONAGiant baby holding a tractorGoodyearin a farmer's field
ARIZONAWhy
ARIZONAColossal CaveTucson6 men robbed the Tucson Bank and escaped to the cave with the money...they hid the money and had a shoot out with the sheriff and his posse, and the money was never found by the sherriff, or anyone else, even today. You can take a tour of the cave and listen to the guides explain the legend, and talk about the other people who have gone into the cave to look for the money, but have never been successful. It's really interesting and beautiful, and weird.
ARIZONABuckhorn BathsMaesUnusual Motel with hot spring baths
ARIZONABiosphere 2Oracle
ARIZONALargest Sundial in USCarefree35 feet
ARIZONAWhale RockTexas Canyon
ARIZONAJackrabbit Trading PostJoseph City
ARIZONAArcher TreeAlpineThere's a old dead tree along the side of the Coronado Trail (Rte 666) south of Alpine, that has become the target of literally thousands of archers. The top of the tree is full of arrows.
ARIZONAVery large ArrowsFlagstaffon the south side of I-40 east of Flagstaff
ARIZONAThe Jail TreeWickenburgAt one time criminals were chained to a tree in Wickenburg, Arizona about 50 miles NW of Phoenix. This tree is a local landmark. Also check the Hassayampa River which dissects Wickenburg, Arizona. This river according to legend runs upside down (underground) and anyone who drinks from this river is doomed to never tell the truth again. The Hassayampa River Bridge has a sign warning you not to "fish from the bridge" into the dry riverbed.
ARIZONANothingPopulation 4. Mile Post 148 1/2, Highway 93. They don't have electricity, but generate their own. Hence, at 10pm when they shut down their generators. For all intensive purposes, Nothing disappears.The entire population, all four of them, run a gas stop and garage. That's it.
ARIZONAThe Duty HutTusconAmerica's only pornography museum. This place was a humdinger & is alive and well on Drachman Street, Tucson Arizona, known as The Meet Rack. All your famous personalities are there too.
ARIZONASunnyslope Rck GardenPhoenixodd cluster of tiny buildings, weird masks and rock fountains, on the front lawn of a house in a weedy, biker neighborhood. Builder Grover Cleveland Thompson, who died in 1978, moved to this unincorporated area of Phoenix in 1952, and spent twenty-two years building his fantasy world.
ARIZONATitan Missile MuseumXavier16 miles south of Xavier. This missile site has yet to be decommissioned and you can take a tour deep into the facility. A little weird.
ARIZONAThe Bird Cage MuseumTombstone
ARIZONAGrasshopper
ARIZONATwo Guns
ARIZONAHooker's Hot Springs
ARIZONACowlick
ARIZONAParks in the Pine General StoreFlagstaffBetween Flagstaff and Williams, you'll have to look for it
ARIZONAThe Museum ClubFlagstaffA 1931 roadhouse during prohibition days now stuffed with all sorts ot weird things and the Largest Log Cabin in the Southwest. Just east of Flagstaff. Also a Haunted Place Voice of a woman thought to be the wife of a former owner talks to people after hours. She personally asked this musician "are you done with that beer? "from behind me on the stage. I turned around. Nobody. There were only four other people in the bar. They were sitting at the bar at least 30-40 feet away.
ARIZONADreamy Draw DamPhoenixLocated off the Squaw Peak Parkway is supposedly a UFO crash site where in 1947 the Army Corp. of Eng. used rock to cover up what was a UFO crash in 1947. Actually the site was where the craft made contact with planet earth and then skipped some 10 miles north to where it eventually stopped. The Dreamy Draw Dam is now a small park that is supposed to prevent flood waters from inundating lower Phoenix -- or is it covering up debris from the contact of something from another world?
ARIZONAPelvisBensonThe Thing, mystery pelvis
ARIZONASan Xavier del BacTucson
ARIZONATumacacori National Monument
ARKANSASDangerous Town of Greasy CornerGreasy Corner
ARKANSASThe Arkansas Alligator FarmHot Springs
ARKANSASMr PeanutFort SmithHome of the world's largest Mr. Peanut
ARKANSASHoo Hoo MemorialGurdon
ARKANSASInternees MonumentDesha CountyRohwer Relocation Camp Cemetery
ARKANSASLatin town f UrsulaUrsula
ARKANSASUneeda Biscuit SignHot Springs
ARKANSASPopeye StatueAlma
ARKANSASEaster Island HeadNear DequeenHighway 71
ARKANSASDancing HeadWaldronWaldron Elementary School
ARKANSASHawkins Grocery StoreOil TroughBuilt in 1889 - neat old store
ARKANSASThe Giant RavenRavendenThis twelve-foot cement stucco raven is the work of Bill Johnson of Ravenden. It stands along the north easement of highway 63 at the edge of town. This is the third raven sculpture to be built on this spot. The first two, both constructed of fiberglass, were burned by vandals.In 1991, Bob Clements started an initiative to build the bird, collected donations and hired a local vo-tech student, who was studying auto body repair, to fabricate the statue. After that statue was burned, Clements had the bird rebuilt and shortly thereafter it was burned again. Clements began to suspect, for reasons that he did not explain to me, that the destruction of the bird might be a personal attack against him, so he got one of the other citizens, Jack Dale, to carry the ball in the fundraising attempt to build the third bird.Jack Dale hired mason Bill Johnson for the job, which took about a month's worth of after-work and weekend time. Completed in 1996, and still intact, the third bird is coated with fire-retardant paint.The inscriptions on the base read as follows (emphasis theirs)Front-Ravenden, Ark. Est. 1883, First known as Ravenden Junction Rear-The Raven was first built by donations in 1991, Reconstructed in 1996 Left-The RAVEN was the first bird sent from the ark in search of land Right--The RAVEN has the reputation for DIVINE or MAGICAL powers
ARKANSASEducated Animals FarmHot SpringsTrained by Kellar Breland, super seceret WW2 research
ARKANSASDinosaur WorldBeaverKing Kong
ARKANSASWorld's largest WatermelonHopeAlso the birth place of Bill Clinton
ARKANSASCrucifix & ColumnsTexarkanaTexarkana's Calvary Cemetery
ARKANSASChrist to the OzarksEureaka Springs
ARKANSASWalmart MuseumBentonville
ARKANSASTown of Toad SucksToad Sucks
ARKANSASTown of Pea RidgePea Ridge
ARKANSASWorld's Largest Grill and Cook OffMagnoliaGuests at the 10th annual Magnolia Blossom Festival and World Championship Steak Cookoff will witness the unveiling of the worlds longest trailer mounted grill. The 78' monstrosity is the brainchild of well known steak-cooker and Blossom Festival volunteer, George Black. According to Black, the grill, which he patterned from an ICBM missile, is made primarily from a 36" diameter gas line, includes 22 cooking doors and individual charcoal trays and weighs 15,800 pounds. It uses 740 pounds of charcoal to cook over 1,000 steaks. The Guinness Book of World Records is creating a special category to recognize the legendary grill. The World Championship Steak Cookoff will be Saturday, May 16th and is the highlight of the many Blossom Festival activities. Anyone who would like to enter the competition should contact the Magnolia Columbia County Chamber of Commerce at 870-234-4352 for entry forms. Steak tickets are also available from the Chamber office.
ARKANSASThe Fantasies MuseumEureka Springs
ARKANSASThe Lum N Abner MuseumPine Ridge501-326-4442
ARKANSASThe Patent Model MuseumFort Smith8th street
CALIFORNIADayCinematic Town
CALIFORNIAElknot to be confused with Moose
CALIFORNIABeemer RoadWilliams
CALIFORNIABuilding Shaped liulldozerTurlock
CALIFORNIAOld Trappers Lodge StatuesWoodlands HillsI-101 to the Winnetka exit, north five lights, then left at the Pierce College main entrance. Follow the main road to the bottom of the hill, turn left, look for the adobe-style Animal Sciences Bldg. on the right
CALIFORNIAWorld's Largest Wind ChimeLakeside
CALIFORNIAFernwoodCould be Frendale - you pick
CALIFORNIASnowline
CALIFORNIATriggerVictorvilleat the Roy Rogers Museum
CALIFORNIAWeedpatch
CALIFORNIATourist TrapMendocino
CALIFORNIAPyramid GraveSan Luis Obispooriginally intended to house three person but it would appear only one has made it thus far. Visible from Hwy 101 just outside the city limits of San Obispo
CALIFORNIAWheel InnCabazonand Dinny the Giant Apatosaurus
CALIFORNIAWW2 Japanese Relocation CampManzanar
CALIFORNIAGreat Statues of AuburnAuburnThe Great Statues of Auburn are true roadside colossi, and represent an eclectic mix of subjects -- ranging from Amazon archers, to a coolie pushing a wheelbarrow, to a nude man wrestling with chains. To say that they are larger-than-life size is an understatement: the biggest is 42 feet tall and weighs over 120 tons.
CALIFORNIADoggie DinerSan Franciscothe last of 13
CALIFORNIASwedish Coffee Pot Water TowerKingsburg
CALIFORNIASonny Bono's GraveCathedral City
CALIFORNIARusty CowGrenadamade form bits and pieces
CALIFORNIABuilding Shaped like a ShoeBakersfieldDeschwanden's Shoe Repair, Chester and 10th
CALIFORNIAThe Rock PileBarstowFort Irwin An interesting site especially if you are into the military
CALIFORNIAWorld's Only Bunny MuseumPasadena
CALIFORNIAWorld's Tallest ThermometerBaker
CALIFORNIAPioneertownNear Yucca Valley and Joshua Tree is a movie set-turned-town. It was built in 1940s as a permanent set for movies. The shootout in Gunfight at the OK Corral was, uh, shot here and the corral is still here. People ended up moving in and now live in the houses. The exteriors are all intact, so it looks just like the old west of the movies. In fact, they still film commercials and movies here from time to time. There's a motel, a restaurant, a petting zoo, and even a real post office -- one that looks like it's out of the old west, of course. (Either turn off Rt 247 onto Pipes Canyon Rd or turn off Rt 62 onto Pioneertown Rd.)
CALIFORNIAClaude Bell's Giant DinosaursCabazon
CALIFORNIABodie
CALIFORNIAGarlic Capital of the WroldGilroyAlso July Garlic Festival
CALIFORNIAFoster's Big HornRio VistaOver 300 heads. Largest of everything dead
CALIFORNIAForest of NiceneAptosSign marks epicenter of 1989 San Francisco Earthquake
CALIFORNIAFainting GoatsCalistogaJust off of Hwy 29, between Clear Lake and Calistoga, visit Old Faithful of California. It's purported to be one of only three "faithful" geysers in the world. Admittedly, geysers are pretty cool. But, better still, the park also is home to a pack of Tennessee Fainting Goats. The goat exhibit explains that said goats suffer (or benefit) from a rare genetic malady that causes their muscles to go rigid when the goats are frightened, thus causing the poor goatlets to fall over. They seem pretty accustomed to the geyser, and did not faint upon its eruption. It was a weird and wonderful place. It's worth the $6 admission if you know what you want to get out of it Can you get a picture of a goat fainting?
CALIFORNIAForks of Salmon
CALIFORNIARussian ChapelFort Ross
CALIFORNIADesert TowerSouthern Cleveland Nat'l ForestOne Dusty old museum and other stuff
CALIFORNIARandy's DonutsInglewoodThere aren't many big doughnuts still standing -- in fact, maybe just these three in California, unsurprisingly revered by googie-eyed shutterbugs and pop culture pundits. What's nice about the attractions is that they continue to operate exclusively as doughnut bakeries, where you can still grab a bag of honey-glazed, jelly-filled happiness. Randy's Donuts: Inglewood, 805 W. Mancester Blvd. at La Cienega Blvd. 310-645-4707 The big doughnut at Randy's Donuts, Inglewood, CA, is a few miles north of LAX Airport off the 405. Trees and brush obscure the freeway view more than they must have in 1953, when the Big Donut Drive-in chain opened. Once up the exit ramp and on the cross-street, the 22-foot diameter snack appears poised to roll off an otherwise uninspired drive-thru store. Randy's is a destination with Hollywood star status. It appears over and over as movie backdrop or in obliquely angled atmospheric LA montages. The big doughnut needs a regular smog and soot scrub -- a black grime is caked across the top and settled around the texture nubbins. The neighborhood itself is a little grimy. But.... the doughnuts baked at Randy's are fresh and tasty -- honey-glazed, chocolate drenched, and fat bearclaws acquired at the drive-thru window from friendly staff. Randy's sells souvenir hats, and a t-shirt featuring an illustration of the building.
CALIFORNIATracy
CALIFORNIATarzana
CALIFORNIACenter of the WorldFelicityJacques-André Istel, the mayor of Felicity, saw its barren wasteland when he was a Marine on his way to Korea. He got excited by the desert and, after the war, bought the land. Then he and his wife moved out here and began building their own town. The idea of making Felicity the Center of the World came to Jacques-André when he'd been mayor only a few months. "People have always thought I was crazy," he says, shrugging, but he somehow convinced Imperial County, CA, to recognize his claim. Soon he had convinced the Institut Geographique National of France, General Dynamics Corporation, and The People's Republic of China to recognize it as well
CALIFORNIACalico Ghost TownCalico1881 Marked the beginning of one of the largest silver strikes in California history and the birth of Calico. This authentic silver mining town lives on as one of the few original mining camps of the Old West. Restored in 1850 by Walter Knott (founder of Knott's Berry Farm) and then donated to the county of San Bernardino Calico is known for being the most realistic, restored "Ghost Town" of the old west.
CALIFORNIADunmoving
CALIFORNIAExotic WorldHelendaleTribute to Burlesque Dancers
CALIFORNIADixie Convenience Store DinosaurBenicia
CALIFORNIAKing of Hub CapsPope Valley
CALIFORNIAPaul BunyanKlamathand Babe the blue Ox
CALIFORNIAOne Log HousePhillipsvilleThat's right a house made out of one log
CALIFORNIABuilding shaped like front of CadillacTarzanna
CALIFORNIAMushroom ChapelMendocinoLooks like a mushroom - N of SF and S of Mendocino
CALIFORNIAMuseum of DeathSan Diego
CALIFORNIAWhittier
CALIFORNIALone Pine
CALIFORNIAKing of Toilet Seat ArtBaronIn this dusty desert cross-roads, John A. Kostopoulus, 77-year old "King Of Toilet Seat Arts," paints celebrity portraits and political slogans on lids 'n' rims; over 400 hang from the hurricane fence that rings his modest home. Word is the King may have died and his art shipped to the dump
CALIFORNIAGiant Sculpture of a TortiseJoshua Tree
CALIFORNIAWorld's largest OliveLindsaynow at the olive tree, at junction of Highway 137 & 65
CALIFORNIAWorld's largest ArtichokeCastroville
CALIFORNIAHeight-Ashburrywhere the Grateful Dead got their start
CALIFORNIAGiant HammerEurekaGiant Hammer outside a hardware store which at one time was a real hammer? Beats me, check it out
CALIFORNIAThe Donut HoleLa PuenteThe Donut Hole in La Puente is more immersive for the car-bound than Randy's, since you can actually drive through its brown double-dunker portal. Its also a darling of film location scouts, since it sits conveniently within the "Zone." The Donut Hole was built in 1968, the two hollow ends fashioned from fiberglass and spanning 26 feet. One of a chain of five doughnut shops, this is the one that has survived. Plunked down in a typical store-jammed suburbia, the Hole's digestive system is taxed as a stop-and-go stream of cars are gulped down and unceremoniously pooted out. The fresh-baked choices are arrayed within, trayed along interior windows. We recommend buying an assortment bag of orange topped, plain and glazed. You can bolt them down on your way to either of two Muffler Man within easy striking distance, in El Monte or Whittier. The Donut Hole, La Puente, 15300 E. Amar Road at Hacienda Blvd. 626-968-2912
CALIFORNIADonut King II GardenaAbout ten miles southeast of Randy's, west of the 110, stands Donut King II, which sports an identical though lesser known structure. It's been painted bright yellow with rough red lettering that reads "Donut King II." Donut King: 2214 West El Segundo Boulevard, Gardena.
CALIFORNIABubble Gum AlleySan Luis ObispoThose who pass thru this alley stick their bubble gum on the alley walls? Beats me also! Watch your step!
CALIFORNIABradburyLiterary town
CALIFORNIASanta BarbaraSanta Barbara
CALIFORNIAMission San Juan CapistranoSan Juan Capistrano
COLORADOFolk Art Junk YardTrinidadNorth on Hwy160
COLORADOGiant ArrowsMancosHogan Souvenir Shop
COLORADOTwon of North PoleNorth Pole
COLORADOTwn of BustBustAlso Population of two
COLORADOClimax
COLORADOChrome ArtCrested Butte
COLORADOBum & Shorty's GraveFairplayTown Square
COLORADOAlferd Packer Massacre SiteLake CityThe site and sign (Cannibalism)
COLORADOThe Woner TowerGenoaA serious collection of weird stuff!
COLORADOThe StonewallStonewallrock
COLORADOSteve Canyon StatueIdaho Springs
COLORADOHigh Point of Trail Ridge RoadRocky Mountain Nat'l Park
COLORADODrive-In Theatre & MotelAlamosa
COLORADOJim Bishop's CastleBeulah
COLORADOTop of Pikes PeakPikes Peak
COLORADOColorado Alligator FarmAlamosaNorth of Alamosa
COLORADOCrook
COLORADOSilt
COLORADOWages
COLORADOLay
COLORADOTIT
COLORADOWild Horse
COLORADORat Hole Canyon
COLORADOPetrified Wod Gas StationLamar
COLORADOMarble PiecesMarbleWhere all the marble for the Lincln Memorial came from
COLORADOWorld's Largest Hercules BeetleColorado Springs25' Hwy 115 south of Colorado Springs
COLORADOMoose Visitor CenterNear Gouldon CO14
COLORADOLicense Plate HouseCrested Butte
CONNETICUTAlbino SquirrelsShelton
CONNETICUTBeemer's Strip ClubStamford
CONNETICUTClassic Wacky Auto WashCromwell
CONNETICUTClock MuseumBristol
CONNETICUTDevil's Backbone
CONNETICUTTown LandingEssexSite of Connecticut British Raid, April 1814
CONNETICUTGallows Hill CemeteryBrookfield/New MilfordOn Rte7 Dates to the 1700s and is where hangings took place. Can only be seen I one direction- you have to figure it that out
CONNETICUTHoly Land USAWaterbury
CONNETICUTNut MuseumOld Lyme
CONNETICUTMini SubsGrotonGerman Mini Sub, Italian 2 man Sub, Japanese Kamikaze sub at the sub base (free admission). You can park the bikes right in front of the subs
CONNETICUTMcBradWindsor LocksA McDonalds shaped like a space shuttle on I75 near Windsor Locks
CONNETICUTSanctuary of LoveNorwich
CONNETICUTIwo Jima MemorialNew Britian
CONNETICUTTrash MuseumHartfordThe Trash Museum which is constructed completely of recycled trash. They even play a game of "Where's Waldo" but it's "Where's the Rat" and the kids try to find a rubber rat among the rubbish.
CONNETICUTUnited HousewreckingSpringfieldIt's kind of a mixture of a sore and a weird museum.. Ever wanted to see a 20 foot Paul Bunyan? They have one. How about a row of Yankee stadium seats? A 10 foot lobster? How about a suit of armor, new York city street lights, your own English telephone booth.
CONNETICUTWiffle Ball FactoryShelton
CONNETICUTWorlds Largest Dairy Store (?)Norwalk
CONNETICUTWorlds largest Dairy Store (?)Danbury
DELAWAREBig Amish StatueDoverA wayward Amish man Welcomes travelers to the Country Pantry Resturant on US 13
DELAWAREFountain of YouthLewes
DELAWAREBeloved Merman of DelawareLewesZwaanendael Museum
DELAWARELarge Wooden ArkSeafordRt 13 Actually a Church
DELAWAREAppoquinmink Friends Meeting HouseOdessaThe Appoquinimink Friends Meetings House, erected in 1783, is located in a community where a strong Quaker antislavery movement existed. The Meeting House is associated with John Hunn (1818-1894) and John Alston (1794-1874), two Underground Railroad "station masters" who were members of the congregation. Referenced in William Still's 1872 book The Underground Railroad, John Hunn gained notoriety by helping several fugitive slaves, who were in the care of freedman and famous "conductor" Samuel Burris, escape through Delaware and into Pennsylvania to freedom in 1844. Turned in to local law officials by neighbors who lived near Hunn, the two men were sued by the owners of the fugitive slaves for loss of property under the Fugitive Slave Law of 1793; Hunn was fined $2,500, which forced him to sell his farm, and Burris was sentenced back into slavery, but was later purchased from the auction block by a Philadelphia antislavery activist. John Alston, another member of Appoquinimink involved in the Underground Railroad, worked with his cousin, John Hunn, in helping fugitive slaves escape to freedom. An 1841 entry in Alston's diary closes with: "O Lord...enable me to keep my heart and house open to receive thy servants that they may rest in their travels that this house that thou has enabled me to build may be holy dictates unto thee of the pilgrim's rest." Alston was the treasurer of the Appoquinimink Meeting and was the weekly caretaker of the building until his death in 1874. Appoquinimink Friends Meeting House is located in Odessa, Delaware on Main Street, just northeast of Dupont Parkway. It is open to the public.
FLORIDAFootSt. AugustineMummified Princess Foot, Zorayda Castle
GEORGIAAndersnville National Historic SiteAndersonvilleThe prison was meant to house no more than 10,000 captured Union soldiers. But by August, 1864, there were 32,000 men within the 26.5-acre stockade of Andersonville Prison. On a single day in that month 97 of them died
GEORGIADrip Nose Mountain
GEORGIAEzekiel Harris HouseAugustaImagine yourself making a trip to market with your cotton two hundred years ago. Where to stay overnight? How about the Ezekiel Harris House, one of the finest eighteenth-century houses and an inn. Ezekiel Harris was a tobacco merchant who became wealthy and built this Federal-style home. The three-story frame house has a vaulted front hall. Although the furnishings did not belong to his family, they are representative of Southern pieces of the period.
GEORGIAGeorgia Music Hall of FameMaconOn my way back from Daytona, I happened by the GA Music Hall of Fame and found out that Duane Allman and Barry Oakley of the Allman Brothers Band were buried in the 1840's cemetary in town. I am mailing in pix of their graves. Since they both died in MC wrecks, I think it would be a real shame if their graves were not RAT sites. Jimbo Breed, Kansas City, MO
GEORGIAHistoric Oakland CemetaryAtlantaOakland Cemetery is a repository for approximately 2,500 soldiers both known and unknown. It has been the site of Memorial Day services since 1866 and boasts two beautiful monuments to the Confederate dead. It is also the final resting place for five generals.
GEORGIAIsle of HopeSavannah8 mi southeast of Savannah, Established as a retreat in the 19th century for the elite of Savannah, Isle of Hope provided a refuge from the intense heat and outbreaks of malaria prevalent throughout the summer months. Originally owned by Henry Parker, the land was divided into lots in the 1850s and 1860s. These were sold to prominent Savannah families who built palatial homes along the water. A small African American settlement in the district dates from after the Civil War when freed slaves from Wormsloe Plantation settled in the town. In 1871 a railroad was built connecting Savannah with Isle of Hope and by the early 20th century many residents were living in the town year-round. The historic district encompasses a large area extending back from the Skidaway River. Landscaped with old oak trees covered in Spanish moss, the houses range in style from Greek Revival, Victorian, and Neoclassical to Craftsman Bungalows. Many of the residences also have both formal and informal gardens.
GEORGIALarge granite Sculpture of RabbitGainsvilleLarge granite sculpture of a rabbit just north of Gainsville,Ga. on Old Cornelia Hwy
GEORGIASouth CemetarySavannahLaurel Grove-South Cemetery is significant as a visual record of African American history in Savannah. In 1852, fifteen acres of the Laurel Grove Cemetery were set aside for the burial of free persons of color and slaves. The cemetery was historically separated from the white Laurel Grove-North Cemetery by what is now Highway 204. Tombstones range from small markers with little or no ornamentation, to monumental markers with elaborately carved figures. Inscriptions on many of the tombstones record African American history not included in written histories of the region.
GEORGIALittle White HouseWarm SpringsThis peaceful hillside above a pine valley was Franklin Roosevelt's favorite retreat from the cares of office, both as Governor of New York and as President. It is still tranquil and beautiful. Roosevelt originally came to Warm Springs for therapy in the warm natural baths. A l2-minute film gives visitors a glimpse into his life, with a focus on his affliction that was kept hidden from the public for many years. In fact, Roosevelt gave a Thanksgiving dinner only for afflicted children every year. Suzanne Pike attended the dinner in l932 and today she is a guide on the grounds, riding around in a motorized cart and talking with visitors.
GEORGIAPyramids of GaEatontonEgypt of the West ( a must see! ) East side of GA 142, 2 miles north of Eatonton
GEORGIADacula
GEORGIAGiant AppleCornelia
GEORGIACounty Court HouseEatontonCounty Seat of Putnam County (great looking County Courthouse and therefore a RAT site) is located just an hour southeast of Atlanta on Highway 441, just off I-20. Eatonton is a beautiful southern town which is rich in history and rustic southern charm
GEORGIAKadie the CowColumbus
GEORGIASt. EOM,s HomeBuena VistaThis guy was a living legend until he shot himself a few years back. Born in Buena Vista in the early part of the century, Abused by his father, he ran away to Greenwich Village in the '30s, became a prostitute, and returned to Buena Vista after his mother died to create Pasaquan and St. EOM. Told fortunes for a living and recreated his childhood home creating statues of dubious Indian origin. He had a dancing pit where he would perform, built walls and painted them in primary Sherman Williams colors. Never paid taxes, grew marijuana. It's an aberration by New York standards, but that is nothing to the striking contrast when viewed against the backdrop of Buena Vista Georgia, a monument in itself. The town economy is basically fueled by a chicken processing plant and a clothing enterprise whose major outlet is QVC
GEORGIAThe Big FishBuckheadlocated on Pharr Rd, in the heart of Buskhead
GEORGIAThe Krystal MissleCordele grab a few burgers and see where man once , still is? The missile can be seen off I-75
GEORGIAFirst Waffle HouseDecatur a small city East of Atlanta, is the home of the original Waffle House, on College Avenue (I'm not positive whether it's east or west, but it's going west on the road). It's still in operation, and it's status as a historical "monument" is marked by a plaque outside the building
GEORGIAThe Iron HorseFarmingtonon Ga 15 near Farmington just before the Oconee river and the Oconee National Forest An iron sculpture originally placed At UGA near the athletic dorms. Not being known for their brain-power, a bunch of atheletes decided to burn the horse. After the vandalism the sculpture was moved to current location where it stands majestically overseeing a large field.
GEORGIAUncle Remus MuseumTalesThere is a museum devoted to Uncle Remus memorabilia located just a short walk from the Putnam County courthouse. The museum is housed in a log cabin made from two original slave cabins. The park in which the museum was built was part of the original home of Joseph Sidney Turner, the little boy in the Uncle Remus Tales
GEORGIARock Eagle MoundEatontonAn effigy mound built by Native Americans more than 50 centuries ago. Most scholars believe that the mound was of great religious significance to the culture that built the mound. The exact purpose of the mound is still a mystery however. The mound itself is more than ten feet high at the center and measures more than one hundred feet from wingtip to wingtip. The mound is an awesome place to visit and leaves one with an unexplainable appreciation for the people who built it.
GEORGIARock CityLookout Mountain
GEORGIA10' PeanutAsburn
GEORGIABig ChickenMarietta5 stories high
GEORGIAOld Cannonball HouseMaconCan you imagine a cannonball roaring into your house? Especially one that was aimed at another house, the Johnston-Hay house, which stored money from the Confederate Treasury inside. On July 30, l864 the cannonball was fired from General Stoneman's battery on a bluff overlooking the river, now known as Ocmulgee National Monument. The cannonball glanced off the sand wall near the historical marker, bounced, struck the second column from the left and ricocheted, entering the Holt house over a parlor window and landing in the hall. The cannonball is still there today but don't worry--it was a dud. Explosive powder was in short supply so most of the shots fired at Macon in the Civil War were duds. To add insult to injury, Judge Holt was hanged three times by Union troops who thought he knew where the Confederate Treasury money was buried. Fortunately, Holt was cut down by his servants each time, (the third time he was unconscious), and he managed to lived through the experience. After this harrowing experience, the Holt family fled to their plantation in Jefferson County. But this escape did not save them from their rash of misfortune because Sherman marched right through on his way to the ocean. His invading soldiers slaughtered or stole all of the Holt's livestock, burned their cotton gin, warehouse, and granary containing several hundred bushels of wheat, stole all their silver, jewelry, clothing and household goods, ate all their food, and destroyed their well ropes and water buckets. The Cannonball House is handsome with Ionic columns and wire railings. Inside, the two parlors have been decorated to represent the two oldest national collegiate sororities from Wesleyan College, Alpha Delta Pi and Phi Mu. As Old Wesleyan buildings were being destroyed in l962, the contents were taken to this house.
GEORGIAGranite Capital of the WorldElbertonHome of the World's Largest Solid Granite Spire
GEORGIAOld Governors' MansionMilledgevilleThis was the executive residence of Georgia's governors from its completion in 1838 until 1868. Governor Joseph E. Brown and his family lived in the mansion during the Civil War. General William T. Sherman spent a night at the mansion during his March to the Sea.
GEORGIASmiling Jimmy Carter PeanutPlains
GEORGIAStatue of LibertyMcRaeIntersection of U.S. 341, 23, 441, 319 and 280. All roads lead to Liberty In 1986, the Lions Club of McRae got swept up in the fanfare surrounding the 100th anniversary of the Statue of Liberty. They decided to build a Statue of Liberty of their own, and a replica Liberty Bell as well, "as a reminder to citizens what America really means." The McRae Lions didn't have a lot of cash, nor did they have a lot of statue-building materials. But they did have enthusiasm. Working entirely from photographs -- and junk found lying around town -- they built a 1/12 scale version of Miss Liberty. Her head was carved -- with a chainsaw -- from a stump pulled out of a nearby swamp. Her upraised arm was made of styrofoam. The hand that holds her torch is actually an oversized electrician lineman's glove. Said Ray Bowers of the Club, "We never knew it would be so pretty." The green lady is illuminated by spotlights at night. The Lions built their replica Liberty Bell with similar efficiency. They took the old McRae town fire bell and put a big crack in it.
GEORGIATree that owns itselfAthensThis tree and the land surrounding it (just a few square feet) are sovereign. The gentleman who owned the tree liberated it in his last will and testament. There is a plaque in front of the tree explaining that it owns itself
GEORGIAThunderbolt
GEORGIAThe Whipping PostAugustaThere is what is called The Whipping Post. It was used in the Old South to punish slaves that misbehaved and such. Every attempt to remove this post has ended with the post still standing and the person dead or severly injured. One story I heard was that a slave chained there was into voodoo and cursed it, saying it would remain there forever as a reminder of the wrong done to his people. It's quite interesting to see, and the people will readily tell you the stories about it if you ask
GEORGIADouble Barreled CannonAthensWorld's only double barreled cannon
GEORGIAWorld's Smallest ChurchSouth NewportUS 17 in Mcintosh County
GEORGIAMrs. Pope's MusuemCairoGigantic concrete sculptures
GEORGIANational Infantry MuseumFort Benningupside down head of Hitler once used as trash can and taken by US soldiers from the veranda of Hitler's Mountain retreat
GEORGIAThe Lunch Box MuseumColumbus
GEORGIAThe Paradise MuseumSummervillereally weird
GEORGIAUS National Tick CollectionGeorgia Southern UniversityOne Million dead Ticks
GEORGIAGeorgia Rural Telephone MuseumLeslieover 50 year collection of telephone & communication memorabilia, (Collection includes those phones used by President Carter)
GEORGIAGeorgia GuidestonesNuberg
IDAHOFarm House and MuseumShoshoneA Strange Farm House! & weird museum of dead stuffed critters , a must find
IDAHORailroad DepotWallaceA railroad depot built with Chinese bricks
IDAHOAtomic Citywhere more than 25 reactors were built, so to be a ghost town
IDAHOElk tracks in City SidewalkWallace
IDAHOElmer's FountainMullan
IDAHOIce CaveShoshoneHwy 75, 17 miles N of Shoshone
IDAHOMetal SculptureKelloggMetal sculptures of a dragon and knight, a gold panner, an elk (in front of the local chapter of the ELKS), a big panther (which is the high school's mascot) in front of the local pool, a miner and donkey, and the best was the Red Baron
IDAHOThe Fossil BowlClarkia
IDAHOThe Teton Flood MuseumRexburg
IDAHOThe Teton DamRexburgcollapsed
IDAHOThe Miners HatKellogg
IDAHOSnake River JumpsiteTwin FallsEvel Knievel's Snake River Jumpsite
IDAHOMan Made GeyserSoda SpringsWorld's Only Man Made Geyser
IDAHOWooden BeagleCottonwoodWorld's Largest Wooden Beagle (30 feet)
IDAHOWorld's largest PotatoBlackfoot
IDAHOWorld's largest Potato ChipBackfoot
IDAHOBreeder ReactorArcoWorld's First Experimental Breeder Reactor
IDAHOProstitution MuseumWallace
IDAHOFantastic MuseumRedmondJim Schmit has assembled an eclectic mountain of cool stuff - including Seattle's old Doc Jones material. See Olaf, the nine foot giant, the altimeter from the Hindenburg, and Hitler's stamp collection! Jim is driven by collecting fever, scooping up everything from historic "four-holer" outhouses to Ike's 1953 inauguration parade Caddy. May have moved to Sister,OR?
ILLINOISBiograph TheatreChicagoThe movie was Manhattan Melodrama. It was a gangster film. When John Dillinger, the most wanted man in America, emerged from this theatre after seeing it on the evening of July 22, 1934, the FBI was waiting for him. Tipped off by his landlady, Anna Sage, who was identified then only as "the woman in red," the federal agents brought Dillinger down with shots through the neck and side as he tried to pull his gun. Women dipped their handkerchiefs in his blood. Dillinger was only 5'-7" and every inch was mean. "The most ruthless butcher of human beings in all the jungles of gangland," opined one newspaper in the obituary. Dillinger indignantly denied such aspersions on his character. "I don't smoke very much," he once said, "and I drink very little. I guess my only bad habit is robbing banks." To many Depression-era observers he was someone to root for, as he continually outwitted police and broke out of their jails. They were willing to overlook the sixteen killings credited to his gang of bank robbers. There is a museum dedicated to him (see Nashville, Indiana) near his hometown. A plaque attached to the wall of the Biograph, which is still in use as a movie theater, describes how he met his end in Chicago.
ILLINOISStrange SculpturesEssexSome guy makes animals & dinosaurs using "found" materials, mostly metal. There are 40 or 50 of 'em.
ILLINOISHome of the Purple MartinGriggsville
ILLINOISBoomer MonumentMakanda
ILLINOISBurgoo Center of the WorldArenzvilleStew composed of everything living
ILLINOISChicago Water TowerChicagoonly building to survive the Great Fire and the basis for the White Castle Hamburger building
ILLINOISGrave of King Neptune the PigMt. Pleasant
ILLINOISHarmilda the CowHarvard
ILLINOISSandwich
ILLINOISWorld's largest Catsup BottleCollinsville
ILLINOISHome of the White SquirrelOlney OR an Actual picture of a white squirrel, none has been filmed yet
ILLINOISPenny laneSpringfield
ILLINOISPopeye StatueChester
ILLINOISSmiling Water TowerMakanda
ILLINOISSpindle Sculptures of CarsBerwyn
ILLINOISSuperman StatueMetropolis
ILLINOISSuperman MuseumMetropolisAcross the street from the statue of the Man of Steel, sprawls the Super Museum. It is stuffed with over 20,000 items relating to the 60+ year old Superman saga, from his first appearance in comic books to his latest indignity in "Lois and Clark" and other post-modern adaptations. The Super Museum is the life's work of Jim Hambrick, who also owns the overstuffed Superman souvenir and collectibles store you must pass through to reach the museum entrance. Jim is very serious about his Superman collection, one unequaled in the world. After we playfully suggest that today's youngsters may not know who Superman is, we can feel Jim's heat vision melting our skulls. Jim has been actively collecting since 1959, and now owns over 100,000 Superman items. He originally lived in California and owned a traveling Superman exhibit that would do the US county fair circuit. In 1985, he decided his collection belonged in Superman's hometown, Metropolis, Illinois. For a variety of reasons, Jim took eight years to complete the move (it took an entire year to pack), The museum opened on Superman Square in 1993. The place is a dense assemblage of collectibles, movie props, superman products, and promotional materials. There are costumed mannequins, theater lobby cards, posters, and thousands of toys and plastic figures. It's organized around particular eras and portrayals of Superman, spanning TV, movies, and comics — and is changed frequently, to encourage repeat visits. Jim points out the phone booth used by Kirk Alyn, the first man to portray Superman on film. The George Reeves Era display exhibits his original color costume. His costume for the black and white TV era, actually brown and gray, is also here. George Reeves' original "flying pan" from 1951-53 is suspended from the ceiling — the torso-molded special effects device that allowed Superman to fly on TV. The pan was attached under his costume, then he was lifted by crane, and hurled by cityscape sets and landscapes. Flying pan technology was abandoned after a mishap where the cable broke, dropping the actor 16 feet onto the set floor. Later Supermen flew courtesy of a "Blue Screen" or computer effects… Jim explains the story behind Mr. Kryptonite. George Reeves actually made more money from doing personal appearances than from the TV show. As part of the act, he hired one of the early pro wrestlers, Gene LaBelle, to wear the Mr. Kryptonite suit. While Reeves was talking to the crowd, Mr. Kryptonite would appear, and hit him in the head with a balsa wood baseball bat. There are many rare pieces from the Superman films, including the Kryptonian crystal that helped Christopher Reeve create the Fortress of Solitude. There are also sections devoted to the side players — Lois Lane, Jimmy Olsen, Perry White. In a section devoted to the Superboy TV show, Jerry Seinfeld's favorite mutants are celebrated— the blocky faced creatures of Bizarro World. Bizarro face and hand makeup are lovingly presented. Jim muses about ways to extend his Superman into more of the community of Metropolis. "I want to do something for the kids. It's called Bizarro's World, a playground where everything works in reverse!" The Super Museum appears to be doing well Jim says he gets about 200 visitors a day. The previous museum and attraction attempted by the town of Metropolis — The Amazing World of Superman — failed, "and that had corporate sponsors and a half million in funding." Jim knows every angle of Superman museum promotion and management, and notes "I've done more than anybody to bring people to this town and keep Metropolis on the map." Also leaping the town into the headlines was a new, improved Superman statue, erected in front of city hall in 1993. With Jim now buying and selling stuff on the Internet, there's no stopping his collection's growth. "I just got the boots of the Kryptonian Elders from the first Christopher Reeve movie." We hope he'll someday be able to display all 100,000 items, including the horrid original statue. "I have a 30,000 square foot space outside of town. As soon as the interstate goes 4-lane there, we'll see about moving...."
ILLINOIS10' Radio Flyer WagonChicago10-foot tall Radio Flyer kid's wagon, Children's Museum, Navy Pier
ILLINOISPyramid HouseWadswort South
ILLINOISVolo Auto MuseumVolo( see the Boothill Express.which started out as a horse-drawn hearse in 1850, and transported Bob Younger of the Jesse James Gang to his final resting place.
ILLINOISTower of PisaNiles
ILLINOISUlyssws S. Grant Historic SiteGalena
ILLINOISWorld's Tallest ManAltonRobert Waldow, 8'11"
ILLINOISWorld's Largest BagelMattoon
ILLINOISWorld's largest PumpkinRamsey
ILLINOISResurrection CemeteryJusticeWorld's Laregst Stained Glass Window, (contains 2447 panels) in the mousoleum at Resurrection Cemetery
ILLINOISWorld's Ugliest of Abe LincolnCharlestonSpringhaven Campground
ILLINOISInternational Museum of Surgical ScienceChicago
ILLINOISTooth Fairy MuseumDeerfield
ILLINOISCookie Jar MuseumLemontover 2000 cookie jars
ILLINOISOwen Lovejoy HousePrincetonOwen Lovejoy (1811-1864), an influential abolitionist, lived in this house, a National Historic Landmark, which was used as a depot on the Underground Railroad. Born in Maine, Lovejoy moved to Princeton in 1838 where he was a minister for a Congregationalist Church. Only one year before, Lovejoy had witnessed the shooting death of his brother Elijah, an abolitionist newspaper publisher, by an angry proslavery mob in Alton, Illinois. Even more committed to the cause after his brother's death, Lovejoy used the pulpit to further the abolitionist cause and believed that slavery could be abolished through political action. After two unsuccessful attempts at running for the U.S. House of Representatives in the 1840s, Lovejoy was elected to the House in 1854 where he gained a reputation for his fiery antislavery speeches. During the 1840s and 1850s, Lovejoy also used his home to harbor slaves on their way north and faced prosecution several times. It was widely known in Illinois that Lovejoy was "in charge" at Princeton and that fugitives passing through Princeton from slavery to freedom were riding the "Lovejoy Line." He was quite proud of his opportunities to help slaves flee to freedom and admitted this publicly, not as a boast, but to defy the supporters of slavery. In an 1859 speech in Congress that drew national attention Lovejoy addressed his role in the Underground Railroad directly with, "Owen Lovejoy...aids every fugitive that comes to his door and asks it. Proclaim it then from the housetops. Write it on every leaf that trembles in the forest, make it blaze from the sun at high noon...I bid you defiance in the name of my God!" The Owen Lovejoy House is located in Princeton, Illinois on East Peru Street, near the corner of 6th Street. It is open to the public.
ILLINOISJohn HossackOttawaThe John Hossack House was built in 1854 for businessman John Hossack. A Scottish born immigrant, Hossack came to Ottawa from Chicago, where he had done contract work on the Illinois and Michigan Canal. In Ottawa, Hossack was engaged in the lumber business and grain trade, and instrumental in the building of the first Illinois River Bridge. Overlooking this river, his home today is one of the city's finest. Its natural setting and classic Greek Revival architecture alone make the house one of Illinois's outstanding landmarks. The house is equally significant for its role in the Underground Railroad. Hossack was a strong opponent to slavery and hid as many as 13 fleeing slaves in this house until they could safely reach the next station. These escaped slaves were in constant danger of discovery and being returned to their owners, while Hossack and others in Illinois, if caught, faced greater jeopardy than abolitionists in other states. By participating in the Underground Railroad, Hossack was violating not only the Federal Fugitive Slave Act, but also the infamous Illinois "Black Law," which forbade most African Americans from living within the State. In 1860, Hossack was one of several Ottawans charged and convicted in Federal Court in Chicago for violating the Fugitive Slave Law. The famous case involved Jim Gray, a slave who had reached Ottawa after fleeing slavery in a Southern state. During the trial Gray was abducted from the Ottawa courtroom and helped to freedom in Canada. The John Hossack House is located at 210 W. Prospect St. in Ottawa, Illinois. It is a private residence and not open to the public.
ILLINOISTree PeopleAmboyIn the city park there are maybe 20 tree carvings of people and animals. By the subject matter (nurse, football player, fireman, etc.) some may date back to the '40's.
ILLINOISBerkeley
ILLINOISHalf Inch Man & WomenChicagoMuseum of Science & Industry
INDIANAAcademy of Model AeronauticsMunciewww.modelaircraft.org
INDIANAHigher in Town WaterfallExetersome serious backroads are required
INDIANAHighest in Town WaterfallWilliamsportIn downtown
INDIANAJohn Dillinger MuseumNashvilleHe was the original Public Enemy Number One, so designated by J. Edgar Hoover and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. During 1933--34, he was the object of the most intensive manhunt in the annals of American crime. He had been captured once and incarcerated in the ``escape proof'' Lake County jail, in Crown Point, Indiana. But Dillinger managed to fashion a toy gun out of wood and used it to bluff his way past guards. Then he waved it in front of a passing driver, took the car, and was gone. The daring escape made him a national celebrity, even winning a degree of sympathy for a man who was thought to have killed sixteen people during a string of bank robberies. More than any other criminal (with the possible exception of Jesse James) Dillinger has become part of national folklore. Even the way he died seemed part of legend: At the age of thirty-three he was betrayed to the FBI by a mysterious ``lady in red.'' When Dillinger was returned to Indiana for burial, other treasure hunters got in on the act. The trousers he was wearing at the time of his death, along with a death mask, several letters, and other personal belongings were put up for sale. Many of them ended up in this small museum in the middle of scenic Brown County. It may be a bit incongruous for a memorial to a gangster to be situated in what is generally regarded as an artists' town. But there it is, and the town is proud of it.
INDIANAGiant ChairKokomoUS 31 north of Kokomo
INDIANAGiant ChickenSpencerOwens County Fairgrounds
INDIANABethel AME ChurchNew HarmonyThe first AME church in Indianapolis, the Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church has played an important role in the city's black community for over 160 years. Originally founded in 1836 by William Paul Quinn and Augustus Turner, the church, then known as "Indianapolis Station," started with a small congregation that met in Quinn's log cabin. In 1841 a small house of worship was constructed, and by 1848 the church had 100 members and became active in the antislavery movement, often harboring fugitive slaves en route to Canada. Their promotion of the abolitionist movement and their activities in the Underground Railroad were not well received by some members of the local community. Supporters of slavery are believed to be the cause of the fire that destroyed the church in 1862. Undaunted by this tragedy, the congregation raised money to rebuild the church in 1867-- the same church that stands today. Known as the "mother church" of the African Methodist faith in Indiana, Bethel also played an important role in the community after the Civil War. Bethel opened schools for African Americans throughout the city, and a kindergarten was at one time operated in the church building. Numerous organizations were established at Bethel, including the Indianapolis chapter of the NAACP and the Indiana State Federation of Colored Woman's Clubs. Bethel AME has been a vanguard in the advancement of the AME movement and occupies a unique place in the history of the Underground Railroad.
INDIANAWorld's largest EggMetone11' and 3000lbs
INDIANAJoe Polooka StatueOolitic
INDIANAMount Olympus
INDIANAOriginal Greyhound Bus StationFort Wayne
INDIANASanta Claus
INDIANAStink Ditch
INDIANABen hur MuseumCrawsfordville
INDIANAWorld's largest SteerKokomo4720 lbs
INDIANAWorld's largest Sycamore StumpKokomo
INDIANALevi Coffin HouseFountain CityBuilt in 1827 and now a National Historic Landmark, this house was owned by Levi Coffin (1789-1877), a Quaker abolitionist. Because of his outstanding role in the operation of the Underground Railroad, Coffin has been termed its "president." It is believed that Coffin and his wife Catherine helped more than 2,000 fugitive slaves escape to freedom, using this house as a principal depot. Coffin was born in North Carolina and in 1826 moved to Fountain City, at that time called Newport, where he operated a general merchandise store. In 1847 the Coffins moved to Cincinatti and opened a store that dealt in goods made by free labor and continued with their antislavery activities. Immediately after the issuance of the Emancipation Proclamation, Coffin worked to aid freedmen. In 1864 he went to England and was instrumental in the formation of an Englishman's Freedmen's Aid Society which contributed money, clothing, and other articles to newly freed African Americans. In 1867 Coffin attended the International Anti-Slavery Conference in Paris. Following this event he lived in retirement until his death in 1877. Coffin's accounts on his activities as the "president" of the Underground Railroad were published in an 1880 posthumous book entitled Reminiscences of Levi Coffin . The Levi Coffin House is located in Fountain City, Indiana at 115 Main Street. It is open to the public from June 1-August 31, Tuesday-Saturday, 1:00-4:00 pm. From September 1-October 31 it is open on Saturdays only, 1:00-4:00 pm. For more information on the Levi Coffin House and the Underground Railroad in Fountain City visit the Richmonnd Wayne County Convention and Tourism Bureau.
INDIANAEleutherian CollegeLancasterA National Historic Landmark, Eleutherian College was constructed between 1854 and 1856, and was the first college in Indiana to admit students without regard to race or gender. Some of the college's trustees were among the most active participants in the Underground Railroad in and around Lancaster. From the Greek Eleutheros' meaning "freedom and equality," the school embodied its founders antislavery sentiments, and the school's location, atop the highest hill in the area, was a physical and symbolic statement of the community's beliefs. Continuing to operate as a private, coeducational secondary school until the mid-1880s, the college was purchased by Lancaster Township in 1888 and used as a public school until 1938. Today, Eleutherian College Classroom and Chapel Building stands vacant. Lancaster was a known stop for fugitive slaves traveling from Madison, Indiana to Indianapolis. Three of Eleutherian's trustees, Samuel Tibbetts, Lyman Hoyt, and James Nelson, were frequently mentioned in connection with the Underground Railroad and its efforts in the vicinity of Lancaster and Madison. James Nelson was arrested by a local sherrif under the Indiana Fugitive Slave Act of 1851 for "encouraging Negroes to come into the state." Judge Stephen C. Stevens, sympathetic to the antislavery cause, had the case thrown out of court. Eleutherian College Classroom and Chapel Building is located on State Route 250, just east of Lancaster. Though currently not open to the public, the building is owned by Historic Eleutherian, Inc. who is seeking funds for a long-range plan for the site.
KANSASBeecher Bible & Rifle ChurchWabunseeare we talking conflicts here or what? You decide. Lock & Load
KANSASBoyer Art GalleryBellevilleCreative insanity
KANSASBronze Statue of LibertyOsborne 7 foot high stands on a pedestal on route 281 between the towns of Osborne and Luray, KS. It is in the middle of nowhere. A tribute to Boy Scouts is what the plaque says. 281 is the main road between Lebanon & Lucas
KANSASWego-Waco
KANSASGarden of EdenLucasWeird concrete structure A must find with more odd ball places to see then the rest of Kansas combined. Bring extra film for this one.
KANSASGiant Prairie DogOakleyPrairie Dog Town A collection of stuff such as dirt, a 5 legged cow and more.
KANSASHome of the Black SquirrelMarysville
KANSASNational Historcial SiteFort Larnedexcellent example of the Indian Wars
KANSASGeary County Historical Society MuseumJunction CityLIVE UNDERWARE SHOW--With advance notice, groups will be treated to an authenic 1800s "Underwear Show." This show is done live, with elderly ladies performing. The town of Junction City is located about one-hour to the west of Topeka, KS. When you do arrive in Junction City, visit the Geary County Historical Society Museum for a show of a life-time. The underwear show will have you laughing and enjoying the past. The museum also houses many old west artifacts, including photos from Mr. Pennell, the famous old west photographer. In fact, Junction City was the home of Mr. Pennell, most likely the best known photographer in the Old West period. For a FREE information packet, call 1-800-528-2489
KANSASRock CityMinneapolisThis Rock City contains rocks that were left prior to the Ice Age. There are rocks that look like a turtle, steamboat, birdbath, twin sisters, kissing lips, and so forth.
KANSASST. Theresa
KANSASDavis MemorialHiawatha
KANSASGeographic Center of USLebanonFor the 48 Contigious States about 2 north of Lebanon
KANSASThe Tree Trunk PeopleWichita.Whenever a big tree dies in a public space, a chainsaw artist crops the top off, and turns its trunk into a piece of art, usually resembling a person. Sometimes the sculptures are site-specific. For instance, tree trunk people near St. Francis Hospital resemble a nurse, a doctor, and a volunteer. There are also more of these little tree people in Riverside Park, and all over the downtown area.
KANSASYaggy
KANSASJingo
KANSASFrisbe
KANSASOlpe
KANSASWind SculpturesMullinvilleFor an odd and fascinating attraction, see the wind sculptures made out of anything on hand and expressing strong political beliefs done by an old-timer in Mullinville, Kansas. It takes up at least an acre, maybe more, and is right on highway 54 just west of Greensburg
KANSASWorld's largest Hand Dug WellGreensburg
KANSAS2nd largest hand Dug WellSeneca
KANSASYellow Brick Rd. & DorothyLiberal
KANSASWorld's largest Ball of TwineCawker CityFrank Stoeber of Cawker City, saw Johnson's twine ball as a challenge. He started amassing his own ball, and soon had over 1,600,000 feet of twine rolled into a sphere 11 feet in diameter -- only a foot shy of the Darwin champion. Success seemed inevitable. Then, in 1974, Frank Stoeber died. Cawker City, in a touching tribute, built an open-air gazebo over his ball and set it up on Highway 24 in town, where it can still be touched and whiffed by travelers. Every August at the Twine-a-thon, locals add to Frank's legacy. Reported in 1997 to be 16,828 pounds, nearly six million feet of sisal twine, and 40 feet in circumference, Cawker City claims twine ball supremacy. But it is no longer the work of a lone fanatic
KANSASBarbed Wire MuseumLacrsseNo visit to Kansas could possibly be complete without a visit to Lacrosse. Here, on the same grounds, are both the Barbed Wire and Post Rock museums. The Barbed Wired Museum imparts a variety of little known facts that have been intentionally kept from generations of American schoolchildren: who knew, for instance, that Barbed Wire collecting is America's fasting growing hobby?
KANSASPost Rock MuseumLacrosseChronicles the ingenuity of early Plains farmers who, lacking available wood, looked around and noticed a surfeit of rocks just waiting' to be strung with (what else?) barbed wire.
KANSASMeteorite MuseumGreensburg
KANSASJohn Brown CabinOsawatomieJohn Brown (1800--1859) came to Osawatomie from his farm in upstate NY in October 1855 after three of his sons, who had arrived earlier in the year, appealed to him for help against proslavery forces in the area. While in Kansas, Brown was involved in a number of skirmishes in the so-called Bleeding Kansas" era, including the "battle" of Osawatomie on August 30, 1856. The John Brown Cabin was built in 1855 by Samuel Glenn, who sold it to Samuel Adair, Brown's brother-in-law. Brown frequented the cabin and occasionally used it as a headquarters for his abolitionist activities. Built about a mile west of Osawatomie, the log cabin was dismantled and reassembled in its present location, John Brown Park, in 1912. A stone pavilion was constructed around the cabin in 1928, however the interior of the cabin remains much as it was when Brown was a frequent visitor and contains much of the original furniture. John Brown only lived in Kansas for about 20 months, but his abolitionist activities leading up to his infamous raid on Harper's Ferry have been closely associated with the state. The Adair-John Brown Cabin is located at the Adair Cabin State Historic State Historic Site in Osawatomie, Kansas. It is open to the public Wednesday through Saturday, 10 am to 5:00 pm and Sunday, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm.
KANSASRoadside Museum to Carrie NationMedicine LodgeCarrie was quite the character. The museum has claimed the home in which it resides as her childhood home. Her bar-destroying hatchet and other artifacts can also be viewed
KANSASMuseum of the American Fan CollectorsAndover("the most comprehensive collection of air moving devices in the world"). The collection is said to house "over 350 fans... including many rare and one-of-a-kind items, the oldest dating back to the mid-1800's." Andover is located off of I-35 just northeast of Wichita. Take exit #57 and go west on 21st streto Andover Road, south to 13th street then east to 415 East 13th Street. The museum is housed at the Vornado Air Circulation Systems Inc
KANSASBrainLawrenceEinstein's Brain. Somewhere in Lawrence
KANSASLeft ArmLucasSam Dinsmoor, Garden of eden,
KANSASShawnee MissionFairway
KENTUCKYBig Mike's Mystery HouseCave City
KENTUCKYBoulders Chained togtherPinevilleAbove the town of Pineville, KY , on route 25E, there are several very large boulders that are "chained together" to keep them from crashing down on the town and destroying it. You must drive there from Pine Mountain State Park and then hike about one mile to see it. It is worth the walk. It defies all sense of logic, why somebody would haul this very heavy chain up a mountain to foster such a myth. The myth was started in 1933 by the town Kiwanis, who attached the chain -- 3,000 pounds, 101 feet long. [Bob Smith,11/16/98]
KENTUCKYGethsemani MonasteryTrappistThe Gethsemani Monastery in Trappist, KY (near Loretto), is a great place to see how an order of monks lives in modern-day America. It's really off the beaten path, but definitely worth it. There is a small visitor center where you can view photos of the Dalai Lama's visit to the monastery. You can actually observe the monks doing one of their many daily prayer sessions in the chapel. They make fabulous cheese, fruitcake, and bourbon fudge in order to support themselves. You can buy it there or at a few of the small convenience stores around town. The food is so good that at the holidays they had to pull the plug on their fax machine and stop taking orders. They do not employ any outside help to make the stuff, and there are only around a hundred or so of them. Combine a visit to this monastery with a trip to the nearby Maker's Mark distillery
KENTUCKYC.B. Caudill StoreBlackeyYou can't buy much at the old C.B. Caudill Store these days. A can of kidney beans. A tin of Prince Albert tobacco. Perhaps a hard to find pipe fitting. What you can get at Joe & Gaynell Begley's place in Letcher County isn't for sale. It's priceless. The walls and shelves of the gray corrugated building that the Begley's also call home are so full of artifacts, there's no room for Jello or Pop tarts or corn flakes. There are hog nose-ringers, barbed-wire stretchers, miners' pickaxes, everything given to them over the span of a lifetime. You can sit on the porch and visit with the Begley's. Truly a unique place to visit, you'll step back in time. directions: take 64 east off of 75 Lexington, then take the Mountain Parkway east to the Campton Exit (highway 15) to Isom take highway 7 to Blackey about 7 miles, store on the right just past big blue bridge
KENTUCKYClimax
KENTUCKYLouisville Slugger FactoryLouisville120 foot Bat
KENTUCKYSanders CourtCorbin
KENTUCKYGraves FamiliesWoolridgeEighteen life-size statues -- dubbed "the strange procession that never moves" -- are grouped around the tomb of Colonel Henry Wooldridge, the Mayfield, KY horse trader who built them and died in 1899. A number of Wooldridge men, women and his favorite dogs, Tow Head and Bob, stare with stony resolve at the eastern plots of the United Daughters of the Confederacy Cemetery. The Colonel is the only person actually entombed there. A hurricane fence foils casual vandalism and most photo opportunities.
KENTUCKYMonkey's Eyebrow
KENTUCKYWhoopflarea
KENTUCKYBeaver Lick
KENTUCKYBig Bone Lick
KENTUCKYWorld's Largest CrucifixBardstownBuilt in 1986 St. Thomas Church 60' high
KENTUCKYWorld's Smallest ChurchCrestview7' x 10'
KENTUCKYWorld's Largest Stained Glass WindowCovingtonIf you wanted to see the world's largest stained glass window, you'd probably think you'd have to travel to Paris, Rome, or possibly England. Think again. It's located in Covington,KY Inside St. Mary's Cathedral-Basilica of the Assumption (in Covington) is the largest hand blown stained glass window in existence. It measures a whopping 24 feet by 67 feet and contains 117 distinctive figures. In addition, the Basilica boasts over 80 other windows depicting a variety of religious scenes
KENTUCKYWigWam VillageCave City
KENTUCKYAmerican Museum of Brewing & ArtsFort Mitchell
KENTUCKYSchmidt's Coca-Cola museumElizabethtown
KENTUCKYBen E. Clement Mineral MuseumMarionThe Ben, E. Clement Mineral Museum contains the World's Largest Collection of Fluorite (Fluorspar). Mr. Ben E. Clement assembled over 50,000 pieces of fluorspar from 1920 to 1980, the year of his death. From 1900 to 1953, before it became too costly to mine, this area was the world's largest producer of fluorspar (at present, China produces 99% of the world market in fluorspar). All tours are guide tours and the staff's motto is, "If you don't have a quality and educational time here, then it's our fault and you get your money back".
LOUISIANAArabi
LOUISIANABall
LOUISIANACorn FenceNew OrleansFrench Quarter
LOUISIANACut Off
LOUISIANAEmpire
LOUISIANAEros
LOUISIANAGeorgia
LOUISIANAGiant Root Beer CanBaton Rougeat the Frostop Diner 402 Government
LOUISIANALafittes Black Smith ShopNew OrleansFrench Quarter
LOUISIANAmamou
LOUISIANAPreservation HallNew OrleansFrench Quarter
LOUISIANASt. John the Baptist
LOUISIANAValalia
LOUISIANAWaterproof
LOUISIANAWorld's Largest TombstoneNew OrleansDaniel Moriarty, Metairie Cemetery, New Orleans( Dangerous)
LOUISIANAWorld's Smallest ChurchPlaquemine
LOUISIANANew Orleans historic VooDoo MuseumNew Orleans724 Rue Dumane
LOUISIANATrunkNew OrleansSouchon Museum of Anatomy, Tulane Medical Center,
MAINECow Shit Corner
MAINECranberry Isles
MAINETwelve Corners
MAINENumber Four
MAINEFour Corners
MAINEPerry's Nut HouseBelfast
MAINEThe SealSeal Cove
MAINEPurgatory
MAINEHypocrites
MAINEDog Corners
MAINEWild Mountain ManHancockRoute 1, a chainsaw carver
MAINEWorld Travelers SignpostLynchvilleJunction of Rtes 35 & 5, northeast side. Coordinates: N44 14.645'' W70 47.057')
MAINEWorld's Smallest ChurchWicasset7' by 4'
MAINEWorld's Largest IndianSkowhegan
MAINEHarret Beecher Stowe HouseBrunswickThe Harriet Beecher Stowe House is located at 63 Federal Street in Brunswick, Maine. The house currently operates as a restaurant and hotel and is open to the public.
MARYLANDFurnace TownSnow Hillvery old furnace about 4 miles North of Snow Hill
MARYLANDPhoto on Smith IslandSmith Island
MARYLANDThe BlockBaltimore
MARYLANDBoring
MARYLANDGrogTown
MARYLANDCrapo
MARYLANDDogtown
MARYLANDMousetown
MARYLANDWorld's Largest Trash CanBaltimoreNear Camden Yards in front of recycling plant
MARYLANDMuseum of MenstruationHyattsvilleCome see the pad!
MARYLANDNat'l Museum of Health and MedicineBethesdaHouses the arm of Major General Daniel Sickles from the Civil War
MARYLANDJohn Browns HeadquartersSample's manorThis building, also known as the Kennedy Farmhouse, was the headquarters from which John Brown (1800-1859) planned and executed his raid on the Federal armory at harper's Ferry in October 1859. Along with a small band of followers, he rented the two-story Kennedy farmhouse, located approximately seven miles from Harpers Ferry, from the heirs of William Booth KennedyOther than the engine house at Harper's Ferry where Brown staged his final defense, the Kennedy Farmhouse, a National Historic Landmark, is the building most closely associated with the raid. John Brown's Headquarters is located at 2406 Chestnut Road in Samples Manor, Maryland. Privately owned, it is open to the public by appointment.
MARYLANDVertebraBethesdaJames Garfield vertebral column ,with bullet path, National Mus. of Health & Medicine
MASSACHUSETTSLizzie Borden HouseFall River
MASSACHUSETTSMarconi SiteWellfleetwhere transatlantic wireless radio transmission first took place
MASSACHUSETTSPlymouth Rock
MASSACHUSETTSPlymouth PlantationPlymouthFirst Settlement in New England
MASSACHUSETTSSheriff of WellfleetWellfleet
MASSACHUSETTSWitch DungeonSalem
MASSACHUSETTSThe MayflowerPlymouth
MASSACHUSETTSThe Paper HousePigeon CovePaper House is a novel wallcovering and furnishing effort on an otherwise normal domicile. Our questions about what happens to a "paper" house in a rainstorm are answered once we arrive -- the place has a regular tar and shingle roof. Elis F. Stenman, with the assistance of his family, began the construction of the Paper House in 1922. For the next twenty years, the Stenmans layered and and pasted and rolled approximately 100,000 newspapers to use in the creation of their two-room dream home. What started as an experiment in novel construction materials yieldedm paper tables, chairs, lamps, and bookshelves. The walls are made of 215 layers of newspaper. Most of the exterior layer type is completely readable, and Paper House visitors can spend hours perusing classic headlines and snippets of articles. There is a writing desk made from accounts of Charles Lindberg's transatlantic flight, and a radio cabinet plastered with news from Herbert Hoover's presidential campaign. A real piano is covered with paper rolls. The grandfather clock includes mastheads (or "flags") from the capital city newspapers of all (then) 48 states. The threat of fire to so flammable a structure doesn't seem to keep the Paper House owners (who live next door in a regular house) awake at night.
MASSACHUSETTSWorld's largest Milk BottleWhately17'
MASSACHUSETTSWilliam Ingersol Bowditch HouseBrooklineAn important stop on the Underground Railroad outside Boston, Massachusetts was the William Ingersoll Bowditch House. The Bowditch House is a modest example of mid-19th century wooden cottages, L-shaped with Gothic Revival elements. Built in the planned suburban community of Brookline in 1844, the house was purchased shortly thereafter by Bowditch. Bowditch, a conveyancer with an office in Boston, owned the house from 1845 to 1867 during the height of Underground Railroad activity. He was extremely active in local Brookline politics, serving as a selectman and moderator of Town Meetings for a number of years. Before the Civil War, he was an avid abolitionist, active in Brookline and Boston efforts. Besides trying to sway public opinion through meetings, lectures and membership in the Boston Vigilance Committee, Bowditch used his house to shelter fugitive slaves. The most well-known slaves to find shelter at the Bowditch house were William and Ellen Craft. In December 1848, the Crafts began a dramatic escape from their different masters in Macon, Georgia. Ellen, the daughter of her master and enslaved mother, was light-skinned and posed as an ailing white man, traveling to Philadelphia for medical treatment with her attending servant, William. Throughout the tense journey, which led to Savannah by train, Baltimore by steamer, and by train again to Philadelphia, the Crafts were in constant danger of being discovered. From a suspecting free black man on the train, William received the name of a Philadelphia Quaker who sheltered the couple upon their arrival. Their journey ended in Boston, where they arrived in early 1849, and after speaking at the Brookline Town Hall, stayed at the Bowditch House and other Brookline Underground Railroad stops. The Crafts fled once again to England after the passage of the Fugitive Slave Law of 1850, but eventually returned to Georgia after the Civil War and converted a plantation to a freedman's school. Another well-known guest at the Bowditch House during this tumultuous time was the son of abolitionist John Brown. The young man was hidden by Bowditch after Brown's execution for his involvement in the Harper's Ferry raid. Bowditch is also known to have driven a slave, who arrived on the brig Cameo, from Boston to Concord. The William Ingersoll Bowditch House is located at 9 Toxteth St. In Brookline, Massachusetts.
MASSACHUSETTSWilliam Loyd Garrison HouseBostonThis National Historic Landmark was the home of William Lloyd Garrison (1805-1879), one of the most articulate and influential advocates of the abolitionist movement in the United States, from 1864 until his death. Through public lectures and editorials in the Liberator, the newspaper which he founded in 1830, Garrison argued unequivocally for immediate emancipation of slaves. Born in Newburyport, Massachusetts, Garrison gained experience in publishing while an apprentice and in 1826 purchased a local paper which he named The Free Press. After this newspaper failed, he moved to Boston and became joint editor of the National Philanthropist, a newspaper devoted to the temperance movement. During this period, Garrison met Benjamin Lundy, who was already active in the temperance movement, and decided to start speaking publicly against slavery. On July 4, 1829, Garrison delivered the first of many public addresses against the evils of slavery. In the fall of 1830, Garrison founded the Liberator. Although the paper seldom met its expenses and never had more than 3,000 subscribers, it aroused the Nation as few newspapers had in the past. The Liberator was published until the ratification of the 13th Amendment with the final issue being printed on December 29, 1865. Besides publishing his newspaper, Garrison also organized the New England Anti-Slavery Society in 1832 and helped to establish the American Anti-Slavery Society in Philadelphia a year later. After the Civil War, Garrison went into semi-retirement but continued his campaigns for prohibition, women's rights, and justice for Native Americans. After Garrison's death, his house was owned for a time by the Rockledge Association, an organization of African Americans formed to preserve the building. In 1904, the house was acquired by the Episcopal Sisters of the Society of St. Margaret who own the property today. Though not directly associated with the Underground Railroad, the William Lloyd Garrison House stands as a monument to the man who established the moral nature of the conflict that led to the Civil War. The William Lloyd Garrison House is located at 125 Highland Street in the Roxbury section of Boston, Massachusetts. Privately owned, it is not open to the public
MASSACHUSETTSAfrican American National Historic SiteBostonLewis Hayden (1815-1859), an escaped Kentucky slave, settled in Boston with his wife Harriet in 1849 and became active in the abolition movement. Their home is the most documented of Boston's Underground Railroad stations, having sheltered many fugitive slaves. The Hayden House is located in the Boston African American National Historic Site which includes 15 pre-Civil War buildings relating to the history of Boston's 19th century African American community, including the African Meeting House, the Abiel Smith School, and Augustus Saint-Gaudens' memorial to Robert Gould Shaw and the black Massachusetts 54th Regiment. The African Meetinghouse, built in 1806 and the oldest known extant black church in the United States, was a place of discussion for many of the nation's most prominent abolitionists, such as Frederick Douglass, William Lloyd Garrison, and Charles Sumner. Established in 1834, the Abiel Smith School was the first primary and grammar school established for black children in Boston. All of the sites in the National Historic Site are linked by the 1.6 mile Black Heritage Trail. The Boston African American National Historic Site was authorized by Congress October 10, 1980 and is coordinated by the National Park Service. Located at 14 Beacon Street, Suite 506 where visitors can find information on touring the Black Heritage Trail. The African Meeting House is located at 8 Smith Circle and is not open to the public. The Lewis and Harriet Hayden House, located at 66 Phillips Street, is a private residence and is not open to the public.
MICHIGANBottle HouseKalevaBuilt from 60,000+ bottles US31
MICHIGANCall of the WildGaylordmore dead animals
MICHIGANGolden Nugget SaloonIrish HillsDerby wearing Cow on the the roof
MICHIGANGiant 30' KielbasaHamtramckKowalski Sausage
MICHIGANHand Cranked FerryKalamazoo RiverBetween Douglas and Saugatuck
MICHIGANHell
MICHIGANHiawathaIronwood52'
MICHIGANWorld's largest TireDearborn
MICHIGANOld WindmillHolland
MICHIGANPaul Bunyon and BabeOssinekeabandon amusement park RT23
MICHIGANPizza BoxesAnne ArborUS-23 North onto M-14 East going toward Detroit, there is a work depicting a very large number of pizza boxes, haphazardly stacked. It stands in a section of the Domino Farms, headquarters of Domino's Pizza Corp
MICHIGANWorld's Largest Hair BallMichigan State University
MICHIGAN1893 World's Fair load of LogsEwenStill attached to the sled
MICHIGANZubler's IndianHoughton lake50' and tacky, souvenir shop
MICHIGANMarvin's Marvelous Mechanical MuseumFarmington HillsOutrageous
MICHIGANShrine of the PineBaldwinabsolute must for wood lovers
MICHIGANMystery SpotIgniteApproach with great caution
MICHIGANDr. Nathan Thomas HouseSchoolcraftThe Dr. Nathan Thomas House, built in 1835, was the home of one of Michigan's most active Underground Railroad participants, a founding member of the state's Republican Party and Kalamazoo County's first physician. Born in Mt. pleasant, Ohio, a Quaker town well-known for the antislavery activities of its residents, Dr. Nathan Thomas (1803-1887) settled in Schoolcraft around 1833. In 1835, he constructed a building that served as both an office and residence. Five years later he enlarged the house when he married Pamela Brown of nearby Prairie Ronde township. Pamela Brown Thomas' memoirs, written in 1892, provide much information on her and her husband's Underground Railroad activities. Referring to Dr. Thomas' early days in Schoolcraft, before their marriage and the construction of his office and residence in 1835, Mrs. Thomas wrote, "His antislavery views were so well known, that, while he was a bachelor boarding at the hotel, fugitives from slavery had called on him for assistance and protection." Pamela Brown Thomas estimated that between 1840 and 1860 she and her husband helped between 1,000 to 1,500 fugitive slaves escape into freedom. By the mid-1840s, a group of abolitionists in southwest Michigan had created an organized system for transporting fugitive slaves. Slaves were often brought to the Thomas House by Zachariah Shugart, a fellow Quaker living on Young's Prairie, Cass County. Dr. Thomas would then shuttle the runaways to Erastus Hussey, another fellow Quaker living in Battle Creek. The slaves would eventually make their way to Detroit and onto freedom in Canada. The first physician in Kalamazoo County, Dr. Thomas not only practiced medicine but also became involved in state politics. In 1837, he was one of 400 residents in Prairie Ronde and Brady (now Schoolcraft) townships who petitioned Congress in opposition to the annexation of Texas because of the territory's support of slavery. Two years later, he joined others in founding a Michigan newspaper devoted to the antislavery cause and in 1845 ran unsuccessfully as Lt. Governor on the abolitionist Liberty Party ticket. A key participant in an 1854 antislavery convention in Jackson, Michigan, Dr. Thomas was a nominating committee member of the newly-formed Michigan Republican party. The party ticket triumphed that year, beginning a period of Republican domination of the state government. The Dr. Nathan Thomas House is located at 613 East Cass Street in Schoolcraft, Michigan. Tours are available by appointment by writing to Schoolcraft Historical Society, P.O. Box 638, Schoolcraft, Michigan 49087.
MICHIGANSecond Baptist ChurchDetroitThe Second Baptist Church is at located at 441 Monroe Street, just east of the intersection of Gratiot Avenue (US 25) and Woodward Avenue within the Greektown Historic District. The building is open to the public.
MICHIGANMarquette MissionSt. Ignace
MINNESOTAGiant Corn Water TowerRochesterLibby Foods
MINNESOTAGiant CornOlivia
MINNESOTAWorld's largest Pairie ChickenRothsay9000 lbs
MINNESOTAhuge Serpent at Serpent LakeCrosby
MINNESOTAHuge Concrete MallardWheaton
MINNESOTAKensington RunestoneAlexandriaThe story goes that it was found under the roots of an aspen tree by Olaf Ohman, an illiterate local farmer, in 1898. Runic inscription describing a Viking expedition in 1362. Real or Forgery?
MINNESOTABig OleAlexandria"Birthplace of America"Alexandria's claim rests on their runestone. Big Ole, a yet another giant Viking statue, lets visitors know that Alexandria takes the claim seriously, as does a 25-foot-tall replica runestone on Hwy 27
MINNESOTASculpture of a CodMadison
MINNESOTAPaul Bunyan's AnchorOrtonvilleUp on the hill overlooking Big Stone Lake and the mouth of the Minnesota River is Paul Bunyan's Anchor. This GIANT chunk of granite is apparently the largest piece cut from the surrounding granite quarries. Thousands of years ago Ortonville and the land north all the way to Hudson Bay was covered by a gigantic glacier lake named Lake Agasis. While Paul was out fishing one day, he threw his anchor up on the hill, and voila! The lake is true, however I don't know how much to believe about the anchor. But anyone traveling through should check it, the view is spectacular along with some great history and information posted near the anchor. Paul Bunyan's anchor is located near the intersection of Hwy 12 and Hwy 75 at Ortonville in an area locally known as "hilltop."
MINNESOTARoadside SculpturesViningHwy 210
MINNESOTAThe Culvert ManNadineabout 30' tall
MINNESOTARoot Beer Lady CabinElygreat story here
MINNESOTAGiant Tin ManDuluth
MINNESOTAJolly Green GiantBlue Earth50'
MINNESOTAThe Spam MuseumAustin
MINNESOTAPipestoneCheck out the Courthouse, Library, Bank, Calumet Hotel, most impressively Moore Block circa 1896, and their Sioux quartzite building.
MINNESOTAWorld's largest OtterFergus Falls40" long
MINNESOTAWorld's largest PelicanPelican Rapids
MINNESOTAWorld's largest Stucco SnowmanNorht Saint Paul54'
MINNESOTA2 Story OuthouseBelle PlainWorld's only two story outhouse,Hooper-Bowler-Hillstrom House
MINNESOTAFirst Century MuseumAustinHormel you won't leave hungry
MINNESOTAMuseum of Questionable Medical DevicesMinneapolisDowtown Minneapolis, 612-545-1113
MISSISSIPPIHot Coffee
MISSISSIPPITupeloElvis's Birthplace
MISSISSIPPIGeneral Sherman NecktieJacksonOld Capitol Museum Such an example of a Sherman necktie is quite rare. No, I'm not writing about a piece of men's neckwear. A Sherman necktie is an iron railroad tie, heated in the middle and twisted around a tree. This was one of Sherman's favorite methods of destroying the railroads in the South during the Civil War. Along with many exceptional exhibits at this fine museum is the nation's first permanent Civil Rights Movement exhibit
MISSISSIPPIKing and Queen of all Gypsies in USMeridanRose Hill Cemetery is the site of the graves of Emil and Kelly Mitchell, the King and Queen of all the Gypsies in the United States. People travel from near and far to leave small gifts of fruit and juice at the graves, Rose Hill has been the burial site for the Gypsy Royal Family since 1915
MISSISSIPPIMississippi Petrified ForestJacksonon Hwy. 49 North of Jackson This is the only petrified forest east of the Mississippi River. It consists of a walking trail where you can see numerous petrified tree trunks as well as the awe-inspiring "Sand Wall." There is also a museum which has a black light rock exhibit. Check out the wildcat cage in the parking area and the wild kangaroo behind the museum.
MISSISSIPPINatchez Trace Parkwayalso in Tn
MISSISSIPPIZero
MISSISSIPPIWhy Not
MISSOURIEastwood
MISSOURIDrug Check Point Warning SignRollaeastbound I44
MISSOURIGiant Praying HandsWebb City
MISSOURIGrave of Jim the Wonder DogMarshallThe famous dog that could read minds, count, knew many languages & more
MISSOURIGrass Roots BMWCape Girardeau28 South Spanish Street - A bike shop, not a BMW company franchised sales outlet. Cape
MISSOURIHome of the White SquirrelMarionville
MISSOURIWorld's Largest PecanBrunswick12' long 7' wide and 12,000 lbs
MISSOURIGiant ChairCaledoniaHighway 21
MISSOURIJesse James HomeSt. JosephHe was the first desperado who rose to fame in the age of mass media. The exploits of Jesse James, former Civil War hero turned bank robber, were carried in detail by the new penny press in America`s biggest cities in the 1870s. His name became known across the country but his appearance was a closely guarded secret and frequently he would size up a job himself, arriving in town under the pretense of being a cattle buyer and going about his business unrecognized. In St. Joseph he went by the name of Mr. Howard and lived quietly, although many of his neighbors were aware of his real identity. A former gang member, Bob Ford, attracted by $10,000 reward money, gunned him down at home on April 5, 1882. The house has been moved several times since then and is now part of a museum complex. Exhibits relating to the James gang, and the original wall still bearing the marks of the bullets that killed him are displayed.
MISSOURIOld Drum StatueWarrenburgJohnson City Courthouse lawn
MISSOURIPrecious Moments ChapelCarthage
MISSOURISilo XPeerless ParkPeerless Park, MO. This apocalyptic attraction, voted the best haunted house in St. Louis for three years running, is only open during the weeks surrounding Halloween. Just off I-44, exit 272, it is eye-catching even from the interstate. With its crash wreckage of real marine helicopters and its camouflage-covered observation towers, this place is probably as dangerous as it looks. Just up the road, a billboard for "Balloonatics" features a red-eyed specter of death delivering a balloon bouquet.
MISSOURIWall of FameCape GirardeauA block long painting on the flood wall of famous Missourians. Includes Calamity Jane and Rush Limbaugh, town spokesperson and hero.You find it
MISSOURIWorld's largest Coal ShovelRich Hill
MISSOURIHalf Size StonehengeRollaA very little bit of Druid Europe exists in sweltering south-central Missouri, on historic Route 66. This half-sized Stonehenge replica was built by the high- pressure water lab at University of Missouri's Rolla campus as a way to showcase their stone carving skills. "In ancient times, carving these stones would have taken years," a plaque explains. "These stones were carved in a month." Rolla boasts that its Stonehenge is the only one in America (there are four others ) that can be accurately used as a clock. Oops, we see that we're running late and leave before we can ascertain whether this odd monument ever drummed up new business for the water lab. (Savvy Traveler Note: If you stop at Stonehenge in Rolla, don't feel sad if you can't get over to Memoryville, U.S.A.)
MISSOURIMissouri Veterinary MuseumJefferson CityThis is a small museum that showcases veterinary instruments, such as balling guns, emasculators and trocars for large animals, trunks filled with horse dental tools, bleeding instruments, horse pills and lots of huge syringes. There are three operating tables for small animals. There are specimens in glass jars, like Siamese piglets and an eight-legged piglet, hairballs from pigs and other farm animals, a colossal kidney stone found in a horse and interesting objects found in animals. The museum is free
MISSOURIGlore Psychiatric MuseumSt. JosephThe smell of ancient insanity would still hang in the corridors of the Glore Psychiatric Museum, if this unusual collection hadn't been moved to an expansive newer building a few years ago. It once inhabited a ward of St. Joseph State Hospital — called the State Lunatic Asylum #2 until 1899 — a fortress-like mental health complex. Modern medication has returned nearly all the patients to society, making way for the state to turn the facility into a prison. East of St. Joseph. Take I-29 to Exit 47, head west about 1 mile. After 36th St. Glore sign and building visible on left. Be careful not to drive into the prison entrance -- they're a little touchy
MISSOURIThe City MuseumSt. LouisAn eccentric millionaire recently opened a place called The City Museum in downtown St. Louis, and if you're driving through this area you shouldn't miss it. It's housed on several floors of an old industrial building in the former garment section of town, and everything in the place is made of salvaged material. There's a huge forest/cave-like area where you can crawl around, old logs that run the length of the ceiling that you can cross the room in, a giant whale you can walk through, an architectural salvage museum, a very cool beatnik bar with a giant pair of underpants, a floor full of artists, and at one time, an art car display. You won't believe how amazing this place is. And with all of its nooks and crannies and unusual materials, you'll wonder how it ever got past the insurance hurdle. Go on a weekday when there aren't so many kids. 701 N. 15th
MISSOURIThe Dog MuseumSt. Louis1721 S. Mason Rd
MISSOURIThe Hair MuseumIndependenceThe Collection is growing everyday
MISSOURINat'l Bowling Hall fo FameSt. Louis
MISSOURIElvis is Alive MuseumWright Cityabout 45 minutes west of ST. Louis
MISSOURIHairIndependenceHair Museum
MISSOURIJawboneChildersburgDesoto Caverns, 2,000 yr old jaw, man was over 7 feet
MONTANAAnaconda Smoke StackAnacondaWorld's Largest Brick Structure 585' tall
MONTANACement OxThree ForksNew Faithful at the Prairie Schooner Restaurant Ox will pee when a seceret button is pushed
MONTANAMadison River Earthquake AreaWest Yellowstone
MONTANAMerry Widow Radon Health MineBasinSit and Breath in healthy Radon
MONTANATrident
MONTANAOur Lady of RocksButte90'
MONTANAPerpetual Clown PartyTownsendPrimitive clown statues
MONTANASt. Regis
MONTANAHouse of MysteryHungry Horse
MONTANAFootVirginia CityClub Foot George's Foot, Virginia City Museum
MONTANAVertebraChoteauwith arrow stuck in it
NEBRASKAWorms
NEBRASKAConley Flats CemeteryEliGrave markers formed of petrified wood 8 mi SE of Eli
NEBRASKAHay Bail BuildingArthur
NEBRASKAHouseFreemontLooks like a half buried Basket
NEBRASKADickens
NEBRASKAOle's Big Game LoungePaxton
NEBRASKAStansbury BuildingNelson
NEBRASKAL Bow Room BarJohnstown
NEBRASKAColon
NEBRASKASquaw Tit Butte
NEBRASKAJailhouse Rock
NEBRASKAPoorman's Bottom
NEBRASKAGross
NEBRASKAWindmill GraveyardEli
NEBRASKAWorld's Smallest Court houseArthur5' by 6'
NEBRASKAWorld's only Church Built of StrawArthur
NEBRASKASmall ChurchKeystone15' by 30'
NEBRASKACarhengeAllianceAmerica's Stonehenge
NEVADABlack Widow SculptureMoundhouse,made from a VW Bug on highway 12 in Moundhouse, Nevada about 7 miles east of Carson City. ( these are scattered all over )
NEVADABonnie an Clyde Death CarJeanWhiskey Pete's Casino
NEVADAChoke a Man Draw
NEVADAExtraterrestrial highway
NEVADAHeller TunnelNevada City4' high and 6 miles long you can walk it
NEVADAHerman the Mouse's GraveManhattanManhattan Bar
NEVADAJackson FlatsJackson FlatsDOE's Nuclear Test Site Range
NEVADAA Le InnRachel
NEVADAThe Shoe TreeMiddle GateStory is lovers were camping there on their wedding night and got into a tiff. She wanted to go home. He said , "then you will walk home barefoot" and tossed her shoes in the tree. They made up and all went well. The next year they returned with the kid and tossed his shoes in the tree. Now others add to the collection. Hwy 50 near Middle Gate
NEVADAThe Survival StoreLas Vegasask for Bo! former Penthouse Pet, and not camera shy!
NEVADAWorld's Largest Polar BearElko12' 2000lbs at the Commercial Hotel
NEVADAYear Round Cornfield MazeFallenon Lattin Farms, off Highway 50 E of Reno on McLean RD
NEVADAThe Liberace MuseumLas Vegas
NEW HAMPSHIREAmerica's StonehengeNorth Salem
NEW HAMPSHIREClarks Trading Post N Woodstock
NEW HAMPSHIREMason RockMasonhuge rock just deposited by a glacier
NEW HAMPSHIREShrine of Our Lady of GraceColumbiamotorcycle monument and annual MC blessing
NEW HAMPSHIRESummit of Mt. Washington Auto RoadMt. Washington
NEW HAMPSHIREThe Morse MuseumWarrenweird dead animals
NEW HAMPSHIREBlessing of the Bikes and MonumentColebrook
NEW HAMPSHIRESandwich
NEW HAMPSHIRECenter Sandwich
NEW HAMPSHIRENorth Sandwich
NEW HAMPSHIREChick Corner
NEW HAMPSHIREChickville
NEW HAMPSHIREPeppermint Corner
NEW HAMPSHIRERye Beach
NEW HAMPSHIREWoodman InstituteDoverThe Woodman Institute exhibits range from local history items (Mind you. Dover is the seventh oldest settlement in the US) to Downright bizarre animal oddities (can you say four legged chicken?) all of which were found by, shot by, owned by, and native to someone who lived in Dover. The admission fee is about two dollars if they haven't raised it since I was last there. It includes three museums, one of which is the Garrison House, still standing after almost 400 years. The caretaker will gladly let you walk around inside (even upstairs, but I recommend against that. It is about 400 years old with no restoration work done) and give you a brief but colorful history of the house's experiences
NEW HAMPSHIREAnother small ChurchWoodstock
NEW JERSEYBeemerville
NEW JERSEYBuilding shaped like an ElephantMargate
NEW JERSEYCowboyBerkeley Township20' maybe be an old muffler man? Rt9
NEW JERSEYpic of a Large RATWoodstownCream-Valley Dairy mile post 11/12 RT 40
NEW JERSEYDouble TroubleDover TownshipDeserted town
NEW JERSEYEasy StreetHowell
NEW JERSEYGiant DinosaurBayvilleHit by lots of trucks RT9
NEW JERSEYJim Gary's Urban DinosaursFarmingdale
NEW JERSEYlittle Cabin InnNewburgh
NEW JERSEYLogaberger Basket CoNewarkRT 16 E of Newark. Office complex shaped like a wood basket
NEW JERSEYLucy the ElephantMargate
NEW JERSEYElsie the Cow's Grave an HeadstonePlainsboro
NEW JERSEYMiss UniroyalGlouster20' babe waving
NEW JERSEYMr. BillWinslow12', looks like Alfred E Newman,outside Mr Bills Restaurant, Rt561
NEW JERSEYMr. Cool WaterworksSeaside Park30' Sufer dude
NEW JERSEYRAT Radio StationBelmarOff Main St.
NEW JERSEYThe Stone MuseumJamesburgDisplay World, and Greek's Playland weird stuff
NEW JERSEYVikingDeerfield20' with horns and helmet muffler man?? RT77
NEW JERSEY20' HammerWashingtonWashington Hardware
NEW JERSEYAnother Small ChurchWinslow
NEW JERSEYMuseum of American GlassMillville35 miles west of Atlantic City
NEW JERSEYGrimes HomesteadMountain LakesThis house, constructed in the late 18th century, was home to the Grimes family, a Quaker family active in the New Jersey antislavery movement. Dr. John Grimes (1802-1875), the most noted and vociferous antislavery advocate in the family, was born in this house and lived here until 1828 when he moved to nearby Passaic County to practice medicine. In 1832, he moved back to the homestead in Morris County and subsequently relocated to the neighboring community of Boonton. New Jersey's citizens were divided over the issue of slavery. Many people in New Jersey were sympathetic to the southern slave owners who had economic as well as social ties to the state. This faction was challenged by another group, largely comprised of Quakers like the Grimes family, who publicly opposed slavery. Once arrested for harboring a runaway slave, Dr. Grimes was repeatedly harassed by supporters of slavery while living at this house and later at his home in Boonton. Dr. Grimes' participation in the Underground Railroad is substantiated in his 1875 obituary in the newspaper Jerseyman, that stated, "In the earlier days, his father's house, Mr. Jonathan Grimes of Parsippany (Mt. Lakes today), was a prominent station on the celebrated Underground Railroad. In later days it was transferred to his own home in Boonton through which many a poor runaway has been helped on his way to Canada. They came to him from Baxter Sayre, Esq. of Madison (long since dead) he forwarding them in the night to Newfoundland, the next station." The Grimes Homestead is located in Mountain Lakes, New Jersey. A private residence, it is not open to the public.
NEW JERSEYPeter Mott HouseLawnside BoroughPeter Mott (c. 1807-1881), an African American farmer, constructed this house around 1844 and resided there until 1879. According to persuasive oral testimonies, Mott and his wife, Elizabeth Ann Thomas Mott, provided refuge to escaping slaves during the years leading up to the Civil War. 1870 census records show that Peter Mott was born in Delaware, and Elizabeth Ann Thomas in Virginia, but do not indicate if they were born into slavery. Their names do not appear in New Jersey records until their 1833 marriage which is possible evidence that one or both of the Motts may have escaped slavery and fled to New Jersey. The Motts settled in a free black community known as Snow Hill which later merged with a neighboring settlement called Free Haven. Snow Hill, founded in the early 19th century, may have take its name from Snow Hill, Maryland, reputed to be the place of origin for many of its founding residents. Free Haven was developed in 1840 by Ralph Smith, a white abolitionist who was the first Secretary of the Philadelphia Vigilance Committee, an antislavery organization founded in 1838. Smith named his development Free Haven to signify its role as a refuge from slavery and sold lots at low prices to free African Americans for homesites. In 1907, Snow Hill and Free Haven were renamed Lawnside which became the only ante-bellum, black community to become an incorporated municipality in the state of New Jersey. Peter Mott bought the first of three parcels of land on which his house was constructed from Jacob C. White, Sr., a wealthy African American dentist and active participant in the Underground Railroad. Mott became an influential local leader and served as a minister to Snow Hill Church, today named Mount Pisgah AME Church, and founded its Sunday School in 1847. Peter Mott's legacy as an Underground Railroad conductor survives because of his prominence in a free black settlement, his ties to other known Underground Railroad participants, and the strong oral history traditions of the remarkable community of Lawnside. The Peter Mott House is located at the corner of Moore and Gloucester Avenues in Lawnside, New Jersey. It was saved from demolition by the Lawnside Historical Society . The organization is currently raising money to restore the house and open it to the public.
NEW JERSEYFingerTrentonLucky Finger, Capital Punishment Museum ( bitten off by convict )
NEW MEXICOBig Pile of BonesVelardeabout 2 city blocks
NEW MEXICOConcrete yard ArtClayton
NEW MEXICOAny UFO MuseumRoswellExtra points of shot of a live alien
NEW MEXICOOld Fort SumnerFort SumnerBilly the Kids grave and much more
NEW MEXICOCarlsbad Caverns Nat'l MonumentCarlsbad
NEW MEXICOGarfield
NEW MEXICODinosaur TracksClayton
NEW MEXICODog Canyon State ParkAlamogordo
NEW MEXICOPie Town
NEW MEXICOEl Santuario de ChimayoChimayoSomewhere around 1810, a Chimayo friar was performing penances when he saw a light bursting from a hillside. Digging, he found a crucifix, quickly dubbed the miraculous crucifix of Our Lord of Esquipulas. A local priest brought the crucifix to Santa Cruz, but three times it disappeared and was later found back in its hole. By the third time, everyone understood that El Senor de Esquipulas wanted to remain in Chimayo, and so a small chapel was built on the site. Then the miraculous healings began. These grew so numerous that the chapel had to be replaced by the larger, current Chimayo Shrine -- an adobe mission -- in 1816. now known (at least locally) as the "Lourdes of America." Chimayo is about 40 miles northwest of Santa Fe in the Sangre de Cristo mountains. The town is nothing more than a dusty junkyard clinging to both sides of the road, which is frequently washed out during thunderstorms and is a favorite speed trap for the local policia. Apparently, the donations left at the Shrine miraculously vanish before they reach the local economy. Intersection of Hwys. 76 & 520, then south one mile
NEW MEXICOFridgeHengeSanta FeSome guy building a Stone Henge out of refrigerators
NEW MEXICOGeromino Springs MuseumGeromino Springs
NEW MEXICOApache
NEW MEXICOPuma
NEW MEXICOMerchant Marine MemorialFort Stanton1,000 mi from any water
NEW MEXICOShakespeare Ghost TownLordsburg
NEW MEXICOSmokey the Bear's GraveCapitan
NEW MEXICOOro Grande Nat'l Forest
NEW MEXICOContinental Divide
NEW MEXICOGila DwellingsSilver City
NEW MEXICOTin Head Stone CemeteryChililiIn the tiny town of Chilili, New Mexico, about an hour southwest of Albuquerque (west on I-40 to Tijeras, and then south on Highway 14), there is a cemetery in which the dozens of tombstones and memorial plaques have been created entirely of large sheets of tin, mounted on marble. This work was all accomplished by one man, Horace McAfee, who has since passed on but is still venerated by the locals as a great artist. What makes this cemetery so remarkable is that all the wording on the tin was punched out laboriously with a nail, so that the holes form the letters. Some of the memorials are quite extensive, and there are one or two huge sheets that contain McAfee's poetic musings on the nature of the afterlife -- twenty or thirty lines in length. McAfee also erected some large tin cutouts of angels watching over the cemetery
NEW MEXICOShaffer HotelMountainairThe Shaffer Hotel was built by Clem "Pop" Shaffer in 1923, after his blacksmith shop burned. The hotel served railroad travelers and workers. Shaffer decorated the building - most notably the interior & exterior of the dining room - with graphics inspired by Native American designs. Shaffer also built the furniture and fireplaces, as well as a concrete fence to the west of the building
NEW MEXICOTrinity SiteSocorro(only open 1st Saturday April & October), east of Socorro
NEW MEXICOVery Large ArrayMagdalenamiddle of nowhere, west of Magdalena
NEW MEXICOTruth or Consequences
NEW MEXICOWhite Sands Nat'l MonumentAlamogordo
NEW MEXICOYucca Drive-In Theater SignSante FeYou're lacking probably the most astonishing roadside site in New Mexico. It's the Yucca Drive-In theater sign out on Cerrillos Road in Santa Fe. If you don't know what a YUCCA is, it's a southwestern desert plant with long spiky leaves at the base in the shape of a big ball, and it has a long stalk that is topped off by white flowers in kind of a bulbous, eliptical shape. This thing is HUGE! At least 50 ft. tall. You might call the place the "Penis Drive-In," because this big sign looks just like a big, uh, well you know, a big. . .
NEW MEXICOInternat'l UFO Museum & Research CenterRoswell
NEW MEXICONat'l Atomic MuseumAlbuerqueKirtland AFB
NEW MEXICOPotato MuseumAlbuquerque
NEW MEXICOInternat'l Space Hall of FameAlbuquerque
NEW MEXICOBradbury Science MuseumLos Alamos
NEW MEXICOSalinas National MonumentSalinas
NEW YORKRoll of Pep-O-Mint LifeSaversGouvenuer
NEW YORKGrampa' Bella Gente RestaurantGreenwich VillageAl Lewis (Grandpa Munster)
NEW YORKChili
NEW YORKGranger HomesteadCanandaigua1816 horse-drawn vehicles collection (40)
NEW YORKLittle Cabin InnNewburghThis is a great find and you might think you are in a time warp
NEW YORKGoodrich MotelAvoca
NEW YORKPetrified Creatures MuseumRichfield
NEW YORKReptile LandKingston
NEW YORKQRS Music RollsBuffaloon Niagra St. they still make roll music for player pianos since 1900
NEW YORKSaratoga Springs State ParkSaratogaEach spring has its own characteristic flavor reflecting its particular mineral content, e.g., iron, sulphur. The water ranges from a mild, tap-like, to a pungent, high-test. There are about 20 or so springs within the park and they are all named. You can ride through on a road called The Geyser Loop, which hits all the springs in the park. If you're into water, this is a *must* stop whenever you're in the area. The park is about 1.5 miles off of I-87 (the Adirondack Northway) on Rt.9, in Saratoga Springs, NY. Going north, it's the first of three Saratoga exits.
NEW YORKSkew Arch Railroad BridgeSilver Creek1 of 2 in the world built on an angle
NEW YORKStatue of Ally-OoopsRomeon Griggs(?) AFB
NEW YORKBig DuckFlandersThe Big Duck The Big Duck is a wood frame, wire mesh, concrete surfaced building designed in the shape of a Peking duck to house a retail poultry store. The building was constructed in 1930-31 on busy West Main Street in the town of Riverhead on Long Island, New York. It measures approximately 15 feet wide across the front, 30 feet long from breast to tail, and 20 feet to the top of the head. The eyes are Ford Model "T" tail lights. The interior is approximately 11 by 15 feet. In 1937, owner Martin Maurer moved the Big Duck four miles southeast to Flanders, where it occupied a prominent roadside location near the duck barns and marshes of Maurer's new ranch. The Riverhead area, including Flanders, was the center of Long Island's well-known duck industry. By 1939 there were approximately 90 duck farms in the county. Maurer's unusual tactic for enticing customers to purchase his ducklings was apparently a success. The Big Duck's prime location, on one of the main roads leading east from New York City to the Hamptons, earned it a lot of attention. Many criticized the Big Duck, especially in the 1960s and early 70s, but architect Robert Venturi claimed that it clearly combined functional and symbolic aspects of architecture, and therefore was noteworthy. In fact, Venturi coined the term "duck" to describe a building in which the architecture is subordinate to the overall symbolic form. The Big Duck closed in 1984, and since 1988 it has been located in Sears-Bellows Pond County Park between Flanders and Hampton Bays on eastern Long Island. It now houses a retail gift shop operated by the Friends for Long Island Heritage.
NEW YORKOctagon HouseMiddleburg
NEW YORKWhite Trailer with white statuesCortlandOther junk everywhere
NEW YORKWorld's largest Fireside ChairWingdale
NEW YORKAnother Small ChurchVerona3.5' by 6'
NEW YORKAnother small ChurchOneida
NEW YORKUncle Sam's GraveTroyOakwood Cemetery
NEW YORKlargest Cathedral in the WorldNew York CityThe Cathedral of St. John the Divine
NEW YORKBear Mountain BridgeBear MountainOver the hudson it is the only suspension bridge where the suspension cables go lower (in the center) than the roadway that they are suspending. Only one in the World
NEW YORKThe Shrine of MartyrsAuriesville
NEW YORKThe Woodstock MonumentBethel
NEW YORKEaster Egg MuseumSchoharie
NEW YORKTop Half of a Giant IndianCarmelon the rood of a hardware store
NEW YORKFlorida
NEW YORKAmsterdam
NEW YORKBetty Beaver's Truck Stop & DinnerGlenn Falls
NEW YORKGiant ChairWingdale
NEW YORKThe Flat Iron BuildingNew York Citylower Broadway
NEW YORKWorld's largest KaleidscopeMt. Tremper
NEW YORKLower East SideTenement MuseumNew York City97 Orchard St. NY,NY
NEW YORKMike Weaver Drain Tile MuseumGenevaRT 96A 315-789-3848
NEW YORKAmerican Bible Society LibraryNew York CityHoly Scriptures!! RATMAN 212-408-1204
NEW YORKJello MuseumLeRoy
NEW YORKSalt museumSyracuseI-90 towards Syracuse
NEW YORKHarriet Tubman Home for the AgedAuburnHarriet Tubman (1821--1913), a renowned leader in the Underground Railroad movement, established the Home for the Aged in 1908. Born into slavery in Dorchester County, Maryland, Tubman gained her freedom in 1849 when she escaped to Philadelphia. Working as a domestic, she saved money until she had the resources and contacts to rescue several of her family members in 1850. This marked the first of 19 trips back into Maryland where Tubman guided approximately 300 people to freedom as far north as Canada. Maryland planters offered a $40,000 reward for Tubman's capture at one point during her time as an Underground Railroad conductor. Active during the Civil War, Tubman aided the Union Army as a spy, nurse, cook, and guide. From Port Royal, South Carolina, in June of 1863, she directed a detachment of 150 African Americans in a raid up the Combahee River, destroying Confederate mines, storehouses and crops, and liberating about 800 slaves. Dedicating her life after the Civil War to helping former slaves, especially children and the elderly, Tubman also became active in the women's rights movement and the AME Zion Church. With the help of the AME Zion Church, Tubman established the Home for the Aged in 1908 on the property that she had purchased at auction 50 years before from Governor William H. Seward. Tubman spent the last few years of her life at this house and died there in 1913 at the age of 93. Though not directly associated with Tubman's activities with the Underground Railroad, the Tubman Home for the Aged, a designated National Historic Landmark, is a tangible link to this brave and remarkable woman who is known as "the Moses of her people." Located at 180--182 South Street in Auburn, New York. It is managed by the AME Zion Church and is open to the public by appointment.
NEW YORKSt. James AME Zion ChurchIthacaBuilt in 1836, St. James AME Zion is believed to be the oldest church in Ithaca and one of the first of the AME Zion churches in the country. An Underground Railroad station, the church is located in a community that was an important transfer point for fugitive slaves en route to Canada. Many of these slaves, impressed by the support of the local community, decided to stay in Ithaca and constructed homes in the area surrounding St. James. The congregation officially expressed its antislavery sentiments through the writings and preaching of its pastors such as Thomas James who was known to have provided assistance to fugitive slaves. Famous leaders in the Underground Railroad are associated with St. James. Harriet Tubman, who played an active role in AME Zion church affairs in central and west New York, often visited St. James and Frederick Douglass is documented as visiting the church in 1852. St. James AME Zion Church continued to be a focal point in the black community of Ithaca into the 20th century. In 1906, in the basement of St. James, seven African American Cornell University students, frustrated by the discriminatory all-white fraternities, formed Alpha Phi Alpha, the nation's oldest official black fraternity. Today, St. James plays an active role in the community as a religious and social center of the southside section of the city. St. James AME Zion Church is located in Ithaca, New York at 116-118 Cleveland Avenue. It is open to the public.
NEW YORKGerrit Smith Estates and land OfficePeterboroGerrit Smith (1797-1874), a nationally prominent and influential abolitionist and social reformer who played a critical role in the operations of the Underground Railroad, lived on this estate and conducted business out of this land office. A major turning point in Smith's life occurred when he attended the Utica Conference of 1835, where 600 antislavery advocates assembled at the Bleeker Street Presbyterian Church to hear famous abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison give a speech. A mob of 80 rioters, including Congressman Samuel Beardsley, stormed the church, forcing the group to flee the building. Smith offered to host the meeting the following day in his home town of Peterboro, a small community named after Gerrit Smith's wealthy father, Peter. The events surrounding the Utica Conference moved Smith to serve as president of the New York Anti-Slavery Society between 1836 and 1839. By the end of his term, Smith was calling for abolitionists to defy the law and help fugitive slaves escape into freedom. During the 1840s and 1850s, Smith acted as a "station master" in the Underground Railroad. His Peterboro estate provided a widely recognized safe haven for runaway slaves enroute to Canada and was recognized as a financial and intellectual center of the antislavery movement. The Smith family had extensive land holdings in New York, and the Land Office, constructed by Peter Smith in 1804, was the administrative focal point of the family's real estate activity and business ventures. Out of the Land Office, Gerrit Smith sold farm tracts for one dollar each to 3000 poor African Americans, many of whom he had helped escape into freedom, with approximately 140,000 acres being transferred betwen 1846 and 1850. Now owned by the Town of Smithfield, the building provides a tangible link to the life of one of the Underground Railroad's most active participants. The Gerrit Smith Estate and Land Office are located in Peterboro, New York at the corner of Nelson and Main Streets. The Land Office is the only building on the original Smith estate that is open to the public
NEW YORKJohn Brown Farm and GravesiteLake PlacidJohn Brown (1800--1859) considered this farm, a National Historic Landmark and New York State Historic Site, his home during the ten years leading up to the infamous 1859 raid on Harper's Ferry where he was killed. He requested to be buried at this farm, which soon after his death became a "pilgrimage" site for free African Americans and white abolitionists. In 1849, John Brown moved from Springfield, Massachusetts, where he owned a wool brokerage business and was an active conductor on the Underground Railroad, to Lake Placid, New York. Increasingly impatient with the stalemated public debate on the issue of slavery, Brown appears to have concluded that more decisive action was needed. He heard of wealthy businessman Gerrit Smith's plan to give parcels of land in upstate New York to free African Americans. Purchasing a lot from Smith, Brown moved his family to the upstate wilderness area where he acted as a leader and teacher to the black families who were developing their own farms. Brown and his followers had a difficult time farming the barren land around Lake Placid and a few of the homesteaders gave up and moved away. This may have been the deciding factor in John Brown's 1855 move to Kansas where two of his sons were leading an armed struggle against proslavery forces. After 1855, John Brown returned to his farm for only six brief visits to see his wife and some of his children. After his death in 1859, his family and the remaining black settlers were left in a declining community that ultimately did not survive the harsh climate and isolated economy. John Brown's family moved to California at the onset of the Civil War, and in 1870 the John Brown Association was organized and purchased the site of the farm and grave. The property was transferred to the State of New York in 1896, but the John Brown Association still organized pilgrimages to the site. With money collected from private donations, the Association erected a statue of John Brown and a young African American boy in 1935 that stands near the gravesite. This historic property commemorates the man who took on the forces of slave interests in an armed struggle that created one of the most enduring legends in the Nation's history. Located on John Brown Road, just south of the intersection with Old Military Road in Lake Placid, New York. It is open to the public.
NEW YORKFoster Memorial AME Zion ChurchTarrytownFoster Memorial AME Zion Church was founded in 1860 by Amanda and Henry Foster, Rev. Jacob Thomas, and Hiram Jimerson. Amanda Foster, considered the "Mother of the Church," was the driving force in the formation of the congregation whose first meetings were held in her confectionery store. Born in New York in 1806, Amanda, in possession of her "free papers," obtained employment as a nurse to Arkansas Governor Conway. While in Arkansas, she contributed to the Underground Railroad movement by using her "free papers" to help a young fugitive slave girl escape. She moved back to New York in 1837 and established her business in Tarrytown where she met and married Henry Foster around 1845. In 1865, after five years of the congregation meeting in the Foster confectionary store and other business establishments, construction of the church began with funds donated primarily by the local Dutch Reformed and Methodist congregations. During the Civil War, members of Foster AME helped to provide food and shelter to fugitive slaves escaping to Canada, and also provided assistance to those fugitive slaves who decided to settle in Tarrytown. Like most AME churches, Foster AME is a religious and social crossroads for the black community, providing a meeting place for worship and a place for public interaction. Foster AME Zion Church is located in Tarrytown, New York at 90 Wildey Street. It is open to the public.
NEW YORKGeorge Washington's DenturesNew YorkNew York Academy of Medcine
NORTH CAROLINAhome to Channel 13 WLOSAshevilleIt is said to be haunted by a servant when the building was home to Dr. Samuel Westray Battle. The ghost's name is Alice and is said to walk around the building and play with the TV equipment. She is said to be also the Pink Lady, because The Battle mansion is next to the Grove Park Inn, and she has been seen walking over to the Inn.
NORTH CAROLINAHammock HouseBeaufortballs of light and blood stains that can't be washed away are observed here.
NORTH CAROLINAOld Tram RoadWhitevillewhile traveling this road have seen what appeared to be taillights in the distance.They would disappear and headlight s would show up. The car was translucent and no driver was present. . The ghost car will chase you to the end of the road, where a church stands and the light just disappear.
NORTH CAROLINAOcracoke InletOcracoke Islandnear the Pamlico Sound .There is one ghost by the name of Edward Teach,also known as Blackbeard the pirate. The type of activity are usually phantom and ghost light, His demeanor is very violent so proceed with caution when going to the Ocracoke Islands.
NORTH CAROLINAHelens' BridgeAshevilleWhen the Zalandia Castle caught fire, a woman named Helen lost her only child. A daughter. Helen was so crushed by the loss she hung herself from the bridge right down the road from the castle. On Halloween night go to the bridge and try to conjure Helen. If she is sucessfully called, you car will mess up in some way that you can't get down the mountain.
NORTH CAROLINAThe Old Court House TheaterConcordThe theater used to be in the old court house but it was moved to an old church. The ghost there is called the "Deacon" he basically moves things around.
NORTH CAROLINAFounders CollegeCharlotteFounders Hall is haunted by a girl whose corpse was sold to the medical school here.
NORTH CAROLINAJackson BuildingAshevilleYou can see a face in one of the top windows, thought to be the face of a man who committed suicide after loosing everything during the great depression.
NORTH CAROLINAHeartbeat BridgeWhitevileThis bridge waws named Heartbeat Bridge because years ago a murdered woman's heart was thrown into the swamp at the bridge and sounds of a beating heart can be heard there. loud screeching noise then a pop can be heard too.
NORTH CAROLINASchool for the Deaf-Main BuildingMorgantonThere is a woman who killed in about 1850-1900. She always walk thought longest hall and stopped and looked at mirror and brushed her long hair if students saw her she will disappear quickly...she wear very white dress and her hair is light red/brown.
NORTH CAROLINAColumbiaThere is a area called dolly field and no one lives up there and if you go up there at night this man name Larry that use to live up there in a old house but died some years back will come after you with his tractor some people have been chase by this man.
NORTH CAROLINAMarionA women is supposed to haunt Pleasant Gardens Baptist church. Students who attended Pleasant Gardens Elementary school have reported a women dressed in pink walking down the road with a knife the following day after someone put pink flowers on her grave.
NORTH CAROLINAFremontIt is told, that on dark summer nights, a light will travel, down the railroad tracks, and it appears, to be like a lantern, the story goes that a local man, lost his head, after being in a drunk state, was killed by the train, it is said that, he searches for his lost head. Many locales claim to have see the light, and claims it chases them, it is said that if, the light catches you, you could die!
NORTH CAROLINAReed HouseAshevillethe sounds of pool being played can be heard
NORTH CAROLINAOld Bluff ChruchDunnIn about the 1820's on a Halloween day this church was having sermon and the preacher flipped out and killed every one in there and now if you go to the church and you read the big stone memorial and walk up to the doors and read the sign and do what it tells you to than you will see a man holding a lantern and he will wave you on.
NORTH CAROLINARural HallThere is local legend about a man who killed his family, it is said that he haunts the area and once you leave he haunts your dreams. Also an early 1930's type car has been seen by a few people but once off of Payne Rd. the car disappears.
NORTH CAROLINALinville GorgeLinvillelights have mysteriously appeared for years... There are two legends associated with these lights, one is they are the spirit of an indian maiden who is in search of her brave that never returned from battle. the other is it is the spirit of a faithful slave who is in search of his master who was accidentally wounded while hunting hatever they are, they appear nightly in the gorge,with no set pattern ,they weave in and out of the trees until they reach the edge of the river, then they disappear only to reappear in another spot. They are known as the Brown Mountain lights.
NORTH CAROLINAOld Maco StationWilmingtonthe ghost of a conductor named Joe Baldwin is said to haunt the Old Maco Station after getting run over by a train on the night of 1867. People say very time at night a train pulls in Maco Station you can see a figure of a man with a lantern in his hand swing it to make the train stop.
NORTH CAROLINARailroad tracksFayettevilleThere is this ghost that has been there since 1700's, .its called the Vander Light. Its a ghost that got killed when was on a train and he went out on the train to smoke a cigarette and the train slammed on brakes and he fell off and it cut his head off and ever since that every time you go down to the railroad tracks there is a lantern and its a ghost looking for his head and if you walk up the tracks and try to get close to it it will disappear and when you turn around its behind you again.
NORTH CAROLINAOak GroveKings Mountainduring the time of the revolutionary war a tavern was located at a crossroads' now the intersection of Oak Grove and Stoney Point roads, the legend is that a British soldier carrying stolen plans was in route to warn the British as he stopped at the tavern for a rest he was identified as a Brit and killed by the inn keeper, and on moonlit nights you can see him at the crossroads, he always looks confused, as you try to approach he dissappears.
NORTH CAROLINAThe Biltmore EstateAshvilleis said to be haunted by a lady in black employees report hearing footsteps on the second floor.
NORTH CAROLINASlocumb HouseFayettvilleA young woman in black appears on the steps here.
NORTH CAROLINAThe Devil's Tramping GroundSiler CityIt is a patch of land in a perfect circle- 40 feet across, the perimeter of which is a path about a foot wide. It's said that the devil himself walks that path every night pacing as he spins his evil deeds, no one has ever been able to spend the night there, and nothing will grow on the path, it is said that anything placed in the circle will disappear by the next morning.
NORTH CAROLINARaleighThere is an old baby orphanage that was burned down by the woman that owned the place. They say you can hear the children crying and laughing on the swings that still stand charred and broken, and at the gate stands a man with a hood, something like the gatekeeper.
NORTH CAROLINASouth Caldwell High SchoolLenoirhas two ghosts. One is from a guy who was building the elevator and he fell. The elevator goes up and down late at night when the accident happened. The elevator opens and closes and goes up and down for or five times at night. Also the theater has a ghost that was a student but she died when she was rehearsing for a play. Now before opening night of any play she causes allot of mischief with the set, lights, and props. She has caused allot of black outs and such right before opening night.
NORTH CAROLINAGrove Park InnAshevilleThere is a lady dressed in pink that haunts this Inn. You can see her and here her late at night. Several guests and employees have had several encounters with her. She is said to be the wife of the famous writer Fitzgerald. You can usually here doors slamming, laughter, and talking from rooms that are not used. She was said to have fallen from one of the windows and died.
NORTH CAROLINAJamestown BridgeJamestownOn stormy, foggy nights the spirit of a a young girl in a prom dress is seen standing under the bridge as you pass it. The girl was killed in a car crash on the way from her prom and is still trying to get a ride home but when picked up she always vanishes before reaching her destination.
NORTH CAROLINADromgoole's CastleChapel HillThere's a legend regarding this strange house not too far from the campus of The University of North Carolina. A man who was in love with a young woman discovered she was in love with a friend of his, so hey had a pistol duel at his house and he was mortally wounded. In his dying moments, he fell on a flat rock that is now stained with his blood to this very day. Student have reported his sad ghost agonizing cries from his fatal wound as well as his girlfriend who died not long after his untimely death.
NORTH CAROLINAFort MaconAtlantic BeachThere is said to believe that civil war ghosts haunt the top of the fort and watch for the union soldiers to attack. And there has been accounts on which during World War 2 the main gate was closed on it own while the guards were keeping watch on the place
NORTH CAROLINACourt HouseSpartaIn the evening and at night voices, laughter, whistling, and footsteps can be heard upstairs in the old jail area.
NORTH CAROLINAA Special ChurchTrustTrust, North Carolina. - At the junction of 63 & 209, just 30 miles NW of Asheville, sits a 12 x 14 foot chapel dedicated to Saint Jude. Built in 1990 to honor the Patron Saint of Healing it fulfills a promise made by Beverly Barutio 8 years earlier when her cancer went into voluntary remission. The Spring Creek Cafe at the same location has excellent pie and coffee as well as gasoline. In addition 209 between Hot Springs and Lake Junaluska is an excellent riding road, as is most of 63 into Asheville.
NORTH CAROLINABaltimoreonly one building
NORTH CAROLINABelhaven Memorial MuseumBelhaven
NORTH CAROLINAClimax
NORTH CAROLINADevil's Tramping GroundsSiler CityThe Devil's Tramping Ground consists of a barren circle located in the middle of a rich, mature, North Carolina forest. Legend has it that the circle has been there for centuries. Nothing will grow in the circle -- no one dare spend the night there -- for local folks believe it's the Devil's nightly tramping ground. Directions: Highway 421 South from Siler City, NC. Go six miles West to Harper's Crossroads then turn north on Devil's Tramping Ground Road (NC SR 1100). The spot will be on the left side of the road. There is a small "pull out" where you can park your vehicle
NORTH CAROLINAGiant Coffee PotOld Salem
NORTH CAROLINAWorld's largest Duncan Phyfe ChairThomasville13' 6"
NORTH CAROLINAWorld's largest Chest of DrawersHigh Point
NORTH CAROLINAHonolulu
NORTH CAROLINAMinneapolis
NORTH CAROLINAPhoto at Graham County Sheriff's Dept.Remember Fontana Rally
NORTH CAROLINARichard Petty MuseumRandleman
NORTH CAROLINAGreat Dismal SwampEastern NCGreat Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge is located in southeastern Virginia and northeastern North Carolina and consists of 107,100 acres of mainly forested wetlands that have been ditched and logged since 1763. It is home to what may be the most concentrated black bear population on the east coast, and certainly in Virginia. The largest Atlantic white-cedar stand remaining in the country is mostly in the refuge. The 3100 acre Lake Drummond, one of two natural lakes in Virginia is located near the center. The Dismal is rich in history. In 1665, William Drummond, governor of North Carolina from 1663-1667, stumbled across the lake which now bears his name. William Byrd III led a surveying party into the swamp to define the boundary between Virginia and North Carolina in 1728. He called it a "horrible desart...unfit for respiration." George Washington first visited the swamp in 1763 and called it a glorious paradise. The five mile Washington Ditch was first excavated to Lake Drummond by slave labor under the direction of the land company of which Washington was a part. Since then, the Great Dismal has been ditched, roads built and timber harvested. In 1973, Union Camp Corporation donated 49,100 acres to The Nature Conservancy, who then conveyed it to the Department of the Interior. The refuge was officially established through the Dismal Swamp Act of 1974. In addition to the usually shy black bear, the refuge is also home to deer, otter, beaver, rare bats, birds, and bobcats. Over 200 species of birds have been identified since 1974. The rare dwarf trillium and silky camelia bloom in the spring. Eight major plant communities comprise the swamp vegetation. Tupelo-baldcypress and Atlantic white-cedar, formerly predominant forest types in the swamp, today account for less than 20% of the total.
NORTH CAROLINAWorld's largest 10 CommandmentsMurphy
NORTH CAROLINAThe Self Kicking Machinein the parking lot of the Angus Barn, 9401 Glenwood Avenue (U.S. Hwy. 70. This is some sort of machine that kicks, perhaps itself. Beats me. You find out.
NORTH CAROLINAErect
NORTH CAROLINAHorneytown
NORTH CAROLINABoogertown
NORTH CAROLINAManly
NORTH CAROLINAWheelless
NORTH CAROLINAWorld's largest Frying PanRose Hill
NORTH CAROLINAMarvin Johnson Gourd MuseumFuquay-Varina
NORTH CAROLINAShell Service StationWinston-SalemThe Shell Service Station was built in 1930 in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The Shell Company had not begun marketing its products in North Carolina until the late 1920s. Therefore, the owners of the Quality Oil Company of Winston-Salem decided to attract customers with a series of shell-shaped service stations. Although at least eight of these stations were built in the area, the one-story-high structure at Peachtree and Sprague Streets is the only one known to remain. The Shell station is yet another excellent example of literalism in advertising in the 1920s and 1930s. The building's form visually repeats the Shell gasoline brand and is a three-dimensional representation of the Shell trademark. The building is literally a sign, an advertisement that is read and immediately comprehended. The structure is an unusual survival of early 20th-century advertising techniques and merits recognition and preservation. Recognizing its historical value, Preservation North Carolina spent a year and $50,000 bringing the landmark back to its original lustre. Workers chipped away layers of faded yellow paint to find the Shell's original yellow-orange color. They repaired the original front door and fixed a crack that had been patched with black tar. The carwash —a wooden, trellised shelter that allowed cars to be washed and serviced in the shade—has been reconstructed. Restored pumps and replica lamp posts donated by Quality Oil Company add the finishing touches to the restoration of this quirky and beloved landmark. Preservation North Carolina currently uses the former gas station as a satellite office.
NORTH DAKOTAGeographic Center of North AmericaRugby
NORTH DAKOTAHelmuth Pfennig Wildlife MuseumBeluah
NORTH DAKOTAVoltaire
NORTH DAKOTASawdwood
NORTH DAKOTASalem Sue the cowNew Salem
NORTH DAKOTAThe Bale PeopleGolden Valleymade from bales of hay Mr. Bale and Family ND200 at entrance to Golden Valley
NORTH DAKOTAEnchanted HighwayRegentNot just a site but a RAT Ride. If the media's dire depopulation predictions are true, North Dakota will soon have less residents than giant concrete and metal creatures. Spunky North Dakotans say "BITE ME!" to out-of-touch urban doomsayers, with their weepy laments of prairie beauty. The state's weak tourist magnetism is a fixable problem. There's no better example of ND-can-do spirit than the Enchanted Highway, a 32-mile stretch of paved county highway between Regent and Gladstone, reaching I-94.
NORTH DAKOTAWorld's largest TurtleBottineau32' long
NORTH DAKOTAWorld's Largest CowNew Salem38'
NORTH DAKOTAWorld's Largest BuffaloJamestown
NORTH DAKOTALeg BoneVermillonShrine of Music Museum
OHIOCeleryville
OHIOMustard
OHIOField of CornDublin109 ears of corn 6 feet tall
OHIOHog's DriveE. Liverpool
OHIOLongaberger Basket CoNewarkOffice complex shaped like a woven basket
OHIOWorld's Largest Real BasketDresdenRT 60 S
OHIOSerpent MoundsLocust GroveWhen the first Europeans entered Ohio, they were puzzled over the strange mounds that dotted the countryside. Some were 50 feet high while others were in the shape of fantastic animals. The settlers could not believe that the Native Americans they saw on the land had anything to do with these incredible monuments. So they invented tales of a lost group of Aztecs making its way north from Mexico to build a new civilization here. One theory even attributed the mounds to the Egyptians. A few 19th century historians guessed the truth; they were the work of prehistoric peoples, some of them dating back to 400 B.C. Adding to the confusion was the fact that two separate mound-building cultures were identified, the Adena and the Hopewell. One absorbed the other and was in turn absorbed by other Indian people who moved into the area by around 500 A.D. Serpent Mound is thought to be the work of the earlier, Adena Culture. It twists and coils around its ridge for one-quarter of a mile, with seven loops and a base 20 feet wide. The serpent's mouth is open and appears to be swallowing a smaller, oval mound. Archeologists still do not know its significance, although it is evident religious rites were associated with it. Harvard University rescued the site in 1886 when it was put up for sale as farmland and turned it over to the Ohio Historical Society in 1900. It is now surrounded by a park, and an observation tower enables visitors to grasp the size of the enormous snake. A museum displays artifacts found during excavations at the site.
OHIOCars of YesteryearsFreeportTammy Faye Bakker's Cadillac
OHIOThe Titantic MuseumSidneyMuch to see
OHIOUS Air Force MuseumDaytonXB-70 Valkyrie world's most exotic airplane
OHIOWorld's Largest Apple BasketDresden
OHIOThe Allen County MuseumLimaThe Allen County Museum is the home to the world's largest collection of albino animals (stuffed, of course). The small animals are housed in the museum itself while the larger game is located in the Victorian Mansion next door
OHIOWorld's largest Vacum Cleaner MuseumCanton
OHIOThe Barber MuseumWinchester
OHIOThe Bull Hall of FamePlain Citylargest artificial insemination enterprise in country
OHIOIntenat'l Museum of Surgical ScienceChicagoDowntown
OHIOHoover Historical MuseumNorht Canton
OHIOThe Optometry MuseumColumbusmore glasses then you knew existed
OHIOMotorcyle Heritage MuseumWestervilleHell's Angels Allowed 614-891-2425
OHIOFingersBowling GreenWood County Museum
OHIOSchoenbrunn State MemorialNew Philadelphia
OKLAHOMABlue WhaleCatoosa
OKLAHOMAThe Heavener RunestoneHeavenerThe 12-foot high monolith stands outside, shielded in a big box. According to the folks inthe interpretive center, the enscription on it dates back to AD 600-900, and tells the story of "Glome" who used the rock to lay claim to this part of the Sooner State
OKLAHOMAHooker
OKLAHOMAThe Marland EstatePonca City901 Monument Road www.marlandmansion
OKLAHOMATom Mix MuseumDeweyTom Mix Death Car and suit case that killed him
OKLAHOMACloudy
OKLAHOMAAnother Samllest ChurchArdmore
OREGONJapanese Bomb CraterBrookingsOne incendiary bomb was dropped on Sept 9, 1942 by the same intrepid pilot who bombed Port Orford (that bomb didn't explode). From South Bank Rd., six miles on Wheeler Creek Rd. to east side of Mt. Emily, the hiking trail extends one-half mile to the top -- may be called the Bombsite Trail. There was a family of three killed in Oregon in those same mountains years after the war. A family consisting of minister and wife and two children were going to have a picnic and the family minus the minister went and one of the three touched the bomb and died instantly. Thus the only casualties on the North American continent. BTW, the remains of a B-52 Bomber lie in the hills along the coast.
OREGONBarkley's Tavern & MenagerieLots of dead animals and eats
OREGONBeaver
OREGONBomber GasMilwaukee
OREGONBoring
OREGONFlight 97 RestaurantMinnvilleB-29
OREGONHart's Reptile WorldCanbylots an lots of creatures
OREGONPeterson Rock GardenRedmondIndependence Hall, Statue of Liberty, etc
OREGONPrehistoric GardensPort Orford
OREGONSandy Jug TavernPortlandShaped like a jug 7427 NE Sandy Blvd.
OREGONThe Funny FarmBendMight be a little hard to find but weird enought to look for.
OREGONGiant Black BirdMedford2 Stories high
OREGONOregon VortexGold Hill
OREGONworld's largest HairballMy AngelFound in the belly of a 300 pound hog at a meatpacking plant in the area Mt. Angel Abbey Museum,
OREGONWorld's Tallest Barber Shop PoleForest Grove
OREGONWorld's Famous Fantastic MuseumRichmondreally weird
OREGONNeck of OlafLakeviewFantastic Museum, 9 foot tall terror
PENNSYLVANIAHistorical Marker at Lee FarmCarlisle SpringsJust north of Carlisle Springs, Pennsylvania on Pa. Route 34. Historical marker at "Lee Farm" - site of the furtherest north the confederate army ever reached
PENNSYLVANIAOctogonal One Room SchoolHouseValley Forge ParkAn OCTOGONAL one-room schoolhouse just west of Valley Forge that's a few miles west after crossing the covered bridge in Valley Forge Park
PENNSYLVANIACentraliaCoal mine has been burning under the town since 1961
PENNSYLVANIABird in Hand
PENNSYLVANIABlue Ball
PENNSYLVANIABoulder FieldsHickory Run State Park
PENNSYLVANIAEdge Weapon MuseumKutztown
PENNSYLVANIAElfreth's AlleyPhiladelphiathe oldest continually occupied street in America
PENNSYLVANIADallas
PENNSYLVANIADenver
PENNSYLVANIADunkle Gulf StationBedfordA great old gas station and a must find
PENNSYLVANIAErros
PENNSYLVANIAHarleysville
PENNSYLVANIAWorld's largest Collection of EdselsOxfordat Lemon Grove
PENNSYLVANIAHopewell FurnaceElverson
PENNSYLVANIAJaynes Mansfield GravePen Argyl
PENNSYLVANIAIntercourse
PENNSYLVANIAMutter MuseumPhiladelphiaPhiladelphia College of Physician Gallery of human skulls
PENNSYLVANIASS Grand View HotelBedford17 mi west fo Bedford
PENNSYLVANIAStanley's Stag BarReadingLast remaining stage bar and a great old, little place fopr a cold one. Has recently gone under some change as Stanley died and his son took over the bar and cleaned the place up, for the worse in the king's opinion
PENNSYLVANIASwigart Antique Car MuseumHuntingtongreat place
PENNSYLVANIAAnother Small ChurchSt. Mary'sabout 10 by 12 RT 255 South
PENNSYLVANIAThe Coffee PotBedforda must find
PENNSYLVANIAThe Shoe HouseHellam
PENNSYLVANIAThe Round BarnCashtown
PENNSYLVANIAThe Harley Davidson PlantYork
PENNSYLVANIAThree Mile Island Nuclear Power PlantMiddletown
PENNSYLVANIAMontgomery CemeteryNorristowna treasure trove of famous graves nearly in ruins
PENNSYLVANIAThe PagodaReadingNice road leading up to the building and site of one of the first car hill climb races.
PENNSYLVANIAThe Zippo Lighter MuseumBradfordThe Zippo Lighter Company of Bradford, PA has a really excellent new museum / visitors center on Chestnut Street, Bradford, PA. The company provides a thorough history and makes it interesting as well. There is quite a bit of space devoted to WW II, since Zippo made its name for its reliability during the war. The factory repair shop is in the visitors center, and one can see lighters being repaired through a large glass wall. Some of the unrepairable lighters (went through a chipping machine, run over by train, chewed by cocker spaniel) are on display as well. Case knives are also featured. There is an excellent gift shop, and plenty of level parking. When in town, have a beef on weck at Beefeaters or at the Downbeat in downtown Bradford. Take a pic of the working oil well in the McDonald's parking lot. www.zippo.com
PENNSYLVANIAVirginville
PENNSYLVANIAWorld's Largest POT HoleArchbald
PENNSYLVANIAThe Crayola Hall of FameEastonBinney & Smith,1100 Church Lane P O box 431
PENNSYLVANIAJimmy Stewart MuseumIndianalocated next to the Courthouse on Philadelphia Street in Indiana, PA, his home town.
PENNSYLVANIAMary Merritt Doll MuseumDouglasvilleRD 2
PENNSYLVANIAPeter J. Mc Govern Little League MuseumWilliamsport
PENNSYLVANIAToy Train MuseumStrasburg
PENNSYLVANIAPennsylvania Lumber MuseumPotter CountyRt. 6 between Coudersport and Galeton Really excellent display of the life of the lumbermen, and later, the CCC guys who reforested what the lumbermen had cleared. Several restored steam engines, including a spectacular Shay. (Shays were the engines used to get in and out of the forest with the logs.) Open every day, $3 to get in. Nice place to stop and relax for a while.
PENNSYLVANIARight arm & morePittsburghBody Parts Museum, U of Pittsburgh Medical School, PA
PENNSYLVANIAThoraxPhiladelphiaJohn Wilkes Booth, Mutter Museum
PENNSYLVANIATwin LiversPhiladelphiaMutter Museum, ( Chang & Eng )
RHODE ISLANDMysterious Stone TowerNewportSome believe this is the oldest building in America, built by the Vikings around AD 1050. Most academics think that it was built by a Colonial farmer, but since no records exist, how do they know?
RHODE ISLANDGiant Rosary BeadsNewportOn a church on Rte. 114, just shortly after you enter town on the left is a giant set of rosary beads
RHODE ISLANDRust-O-RamaNarragansett
RHODE ISLANDWorld's largest BugProvidence50' termite New England Pest Control Building
RHODE ISLANDWorld's Largest Blue BugDavisvilleQounset Point Naval Reserve Base
SOUTH CAROLINAWorld's largest Tee BallFort Mill
SOUTH CAROLINAGiant ChairMariettaAnother big chair whose praises are yet unsung . It is a big wooden porch chair advertising a mom and pop store and fishing bait emporium, located on U.S. highway 25 North, just outside of Traveler's Rest,
SOUTH CAROLINABridgeBethuneBehtune has the only bridge in the world that crosses the same river three times and the river does not fork. The Lynches river forms a large S at the place where US Highway #1 crosses the river one mile north of Bethune
SOUTH CAROLINABaton Rouge
SOUTH CAROLINAStrawberry
SOUTH CAROLINAMayo
SOUTH CAROLINAHammockEdisto Islandoff Highway 17, a man has a double bed mattress hanging as a hammock in front of his house. This has been a "tourist point of interest" for fifteen years
SOUTH CAROLINAAfrican Village of OyotunjiSheldonOyotunji African Village covers 27 acres and has 37 residents. It was founded in 1970 by King Oba Ofuntola Oseijeman Adelabu Adefunmi I, a former used car dealer who, some say, was running from the law. Whatever else he may have been, King Oba was smart enough to see the tax benefits of starting not only his own religion ("New World Yoruba") but also his own country. Oyotunji is not part of the United States, at least according to King Oba's accountants. It moved to its present site near Sheldon because its old neighbors were complaining about the tourists and the drumming. Neither is in evidence now. A kid named Adegbolu, born and raised at Oyotunji, gives us a tour. He wears a colorful dashiki and decorative facial scars. "This is Elegba," he says, pointing to one of the many shrines littered with decaying art and animal skulls that dot the property. "Elegba is the god of tricksters. Elegba's colors are red and black. Elegba's numbers are 3, 11 and 21. Elegba draws his energies from the planet Mercury. Elegba rules over the sign of Capricorn." All this in a rapid-fire sing-song with a lot of Yoruba words thrown in. At least Oyotunji sounds impressive. Visually, it's not. Oyotunji literature pictures its happy residents strutting about in colorful, flowing robes, dancing and playing fanciful percussive instruments. In real life the people of Oyotunji dress like any other small-town South Carolinans. Except, of course, that this "town" was built in the middle of a forest, has dirt instead of streets, bizarre, crumbling concrete monuments, and a "royal palace" that looks like a bargain basement V.F.W. hall. In one corner of the palace courtyard lies the mausoleum of Orisamola Awolowo, one of the founding fathers of Oyotunji, who died in 1990. A sign outside, painted on a piece of 4x8 plywood, beckons visitors to venture down the "Safari Road" to visit the Village "as seen on TV." The King has been on Oprah, defending his right to practice polygamy (he used to have six wives, but he was down to four at last count. Some consider a visit to Oyotunji a spiritual experience. Overall, this sandy, marshy, bug-infested conglomeration of tumble-down shacks and crumbling concrete sculptures testifies to the American right to believe whatever wacky thing you want.
SOUTH CAROLINAFamous Nudist ColonyPelion
SOUTH CAROLINASouth of the BorderDillon200' High Sombrero
SOUTH CAROLINAPeach Water TowerGaffney
SOUTH CAROLINAUFO Welcome CenterBowman
SOUTH CAROLINARevolutionary War Prisoner PitCharlestonWar Pit Near Charleston,, on Sullivan's Island, is a park with a large hill full of bamboo trees. If you walk up on of the paths on the hill (they are steep, be careful), there is a fenced off pit where soldiers at Fort Moultrie kept redcoat prisoners during the Revolutionary War. It is surrounded by steep, granite walls that nobody could climb. If someone attempted to, a guard on the watchtower would shoot the prisoner to death. There is a tunnel somewhere that leads you to the inside of the pit. Further down the road is Fort Moultrie, where they used to have a bunch of tunnels open, but they are now closed. If you were with a group, and left them behind, it would take you 20 minutes to find them! (Directions: In Charleston, take US 17 north over the Grace Memorial Bridge, turn off on SC 703 in Mt. Pleasant (Coleman Road), take that over the drawbridge, turn right on Middle Road, and look for a park on your right. Further down Middle Road is Fort Moultrie
SOUTH CAROLINARailroad MuseumWinnsboroSouth Carolina's only RR Museum. About 20 miles north of Columbia up Rt.321: We have a decidedly rare flatcar that dates from the late 1800s (we think about 1880-1890). It has many unusual features. The casual observer would probably say it's just an old flatcar, but to someone who knows something about trains this thing is a real gem. This car was recently repainted by Spelling Productions for the upcoming pilot of a dramatic TV series set during the Civil War and shot in Wilmington, NC. We also have a 1918 private car on display, which is open for tours. It was built for the third man in command of the Seaboard Air Line Railroad, and is named "Norfolk." Other rare cars are a pair of dump cars used by the Rockton-Rion Ry. (the original name of our railroad). We're pretty sure that one of them was used during the construction of the Lake Murray dam (located near of Columbia). There's a stock car that was partially built (on the frame of another car we had) and used in the same Spelling TV pilot I mentioned above. We have two of only three remaining Lancaster & Chester RR 40' boxcars, and a steam locomotive that has never operated outside of South Carolina.
SOUTH CAROLINAWorld's Smallest Police StationRidgeway
SOUTH CAROLINAAnotherConwaySmallest Church
SOUTH CAROLINAMacaulay Museum of Dental HistoryCharleston
SOUTH DAKOTAMount RushmoreBlack Hills
SOUTH DAKOTAMain StreetSturgisA Picture of Main street with no motorcycles in sight
SOUTH DAKOTASturgis Motorcycle MuseumSturgis
SOUTH DAKOTAWall DrugWall
SOUTH DAKOTALead
SOUTH DAKOTADeadwood
TENNESSEE200 Albino SquirrelsKentonleft by Gypsy caravan in 1869
TENNESSEEBeal StreetMemphis
TENNESSEEBell Witch CaveAdams CountyGrave of native Indians an Trail of tears went through it
TENNESSEEBuford Pusser's Death CarPigon ForgeCarbo Police Museum
TENNESSEEBuford Pusser's Death MarkerAdamsvilleOn the road between highway 45 and Adamsville, TN. marks the spot where his corvette was found after the crash
TENNESSEECrystal Shrine GrottoMemphisCrystal Shrine Grotto was built by artist Dionicio Rodriquez in the 1930s, and was completed around 1938. On the National Register of Historic Places, this hand-made cave of Bible scenes is a cool escape from the summer sun. You walk through a hole in a large concrete tree stump — Abraham's Oak — named for "the founder of the Hebrew Nation." A plaque says that " Rodriquez, a descendant of the artistic Aztec race of Mexico, has reproduced this historic stump entirely of concrete reinforced with steel and copper bar so as to ensure its existence for many centuries to come." The grotto cavern is constructed of rock quartz crystal and semiprecious stones. It illustrates "Christ's Journey on the Earth from Birth to Resurrection." The scenes are a mix of strange abstractions and more traditional religious dioramas. There is little info on who Rodriquez was, or why he built this place. But it looks like he also made the many concrete stump trash containers around the cemetery.
TENNESSEEDitty Wah Ditty Tourist CourtMemphisHwy 51 S
TENNESSEEEiffel Tower ReplicaParis65'
TENNESSEEFlying Saucer houseChattanoogamade from concrete,on road that leads to signal Mountain
TENNESSEEGiant CatfishParisRoad Leading into Paris
TENNESSEEGracelandMemphis
TENNESSEEHome of the FiddlestickGreenfieldpopulation of about 450 people is the home the fiddlestick. everyone has had a fiddlestick. its an ice-cream bar, on a stick, dipped in chocolate and rolled in peanuts
TENNESSEEHanks Williams Sr. Death CarNashvilleHank Williams Jr. Museum
TENNESSEEHomestead HouseSavannaha beautiful Antebellum home, once owned by Jesse James
TENNESSEEHuge Cedar Bucket ChairSymrna
TENNESSEEJack Daniels' DistilleryLynchburg
TENNESSEEMadison County Court HouseMadison Countycomplete with a plaque of the speech Crocket gave after loosing his senate race and before going to the Alamo...wraps up with "Y'all can go to hell!...I'm going to Texas
TENNESSEEMills Darden's GraveLexingtonMills Darden is still listed by Guiness as the largest man ever. somewhere in the range of 700 pounds. he was buried in a piano case and it took 15 men to get him from the wagon to the grave
TENNESSEENathan Bedford Forrest MuseumJacksonon the west side of Jackson, TN. many rare, original letters and photos of Forrest. not much else
TENNESSEENatural BridgeLawrenceburgJust outside Lawrenceburg, TN used to be an old highwayman's hideout. Supposedly Jesse James stayed there a time or two. Now its a fat farm, but usually they'll let you tour the grounds
TENNESSEEPeabody Hotel DucksMemphisEvery morning at 11 am the ducks come down from the roof, walk across a red carpet and enter the loby fountain. They repeat the processing back up to the roof for the evening at 4 pm. You need to get a picture of them either coming or going. In the fountain does not count
TENNESSEERobertson's Pawn ShopHendersonFront Street, Henderson, TN. this pawnshop was in at least three of the movies made about Pusser.
TENNESSEEThe Rock PileShiloh Battle Fieldon the back side of Shiloh Battle Field. just a hole in the wall bar with a cussing cockatoo
TENNESSEERunning Donkey Rock PaintingSmithvilleHwy 70 W of Smithville
TENNESSEESkullboneThis is an unincorporated town on SR 105 between Trezvant and Bradford, TN. The name comes from bare knuckle fights that were popular there at the turn of the century. There is a store there that sells all manner of skull related merchandise. Road signs point to Tokyo, Brussels, Paris, etc. Cool little place, 105 is a good road, also. Recently, a local entrepreneur has opened a music park there. See there web page http://www.skullbonepark.com/
TENNESSEESweet Lips
TENNESSEETennessee River MuseumSavannahbuild under the hydro dam at Savannah. offers a lot of information on native cultures dating back to the mississippians and artifacts dug up building the dam
TENNESSEEThe Great American PyramidMemphisLargest ever built in the Americas
TENNESSEETwitty CityHendersonville
TENNESSEEThe Belle WitchAdamsNuttiest poltergeist of Adams Family is still seen on Adams property cave
TENNESSEEThe ParthenonMemphis
TENNESSEEWorld's 3rd Largest Pecan TreeLexingtonThe world's 3rd biggest pecan tree, in Lexington, TN it was the biggest, but smoking stunted it's growth. supposedly planted by one of Crockets men on the way to the Alamo
TENNESSEEForrest's Command CenterWaverlyBetween Starkville and Columbus, Miss. Another old southern home, still privately owned, but they offer tours. This was Forrest's command center and the reason many of the old homes south of there are still standing
TENNESSEEMuseum of Beverage ContainersGoodlettsvilleand Advertising
TENNESSEENational Knife MuseumChattanooga
TENNESSEEVeilleuse-Theires CollectionTrentonnight light teapots, largest of its kind! city Hall
TENNESSEESkull- Man- creatureLebanonAn antique store. The most valuable item there is the head of an unidentified man-creature ("The Legend of Sugar Flat Road, as seen on Hard Copy and Strange Universe"). On a January night in 1987, two local teens crashed their pickup truck into a creature. Sightings persist, but the head can be viewed during normal business hours at Cuz's Antique Center, 140 Public Square, intersection of Hwy 70 and Hwy 231
TENNESSEECave Man HeadLebanonCuz's Antique store
TEXASGun Barrel
TEXASGrueneGrueneOldest Dance hall in Texas built in 1880's
TEXASHighest Point on Texas HighwaysMt LockeSummit of Mt. Locke 6791 ft there is a sign at this location that says so
TEXASLargest Cross in W. HemisphereGroom190ft outside of Groom
TEXASLeaning Water TowerCross
TEXASNemo
TEXASRamirez
TEXASTarzan
TEXASLos Ebanos FerryMissiononly existing hand powered ferry, USA to Mexico
TEXASMission ControlHoustonHey we're outa control
TEXASMoola the CowStephenville
TEXASOld Rip the ToadEastlandburied alive for 31 yr. and lived
TEXASPaisano PeteFort Stockton20' 11" Roadrunner
TEXASPopeye StatueCrystal City
TEXASSalt PalaceGrand Salinebuilt from salt
TEXASPalo Duro CanyonSecond deepest canyon in the N. America
TEXASSierra di Cristo ReyEl PasoJust outside El Paso, Texas, across the Rio Grande into New Mexico, is one of the few monumental Christ figures in the United States. It was carved from Austin, TX limestone by the Catalonian sculptor, Urbici Soler, from 1938-1940. This mountain-top Cristo is the same mountain that the Conquistadors circled in order to ford the river they called "Rio del Norte".
TEXASStatue of Bob WillisTurkeyThe Texas Playboys just Give Me 40 Acres an I'll turn this bike around
TEXASStarlight TheaterTerlinguain the ghost town of Terlingua near Big Bend Nat'l park
TEXASStonehenge in the HillsIngran County2 miles W of Hunt on FM 1340
TEXASStop Again Service StationTexarkanaHwy 76 W
TEXASTex the Giant CowboyCanyon
TEXASBlarney StoneShamrockTowns with strong Irish roots celebrate their origins with as much vigor as any of America's Switzerlands or German Sausage Capitals. Shamrock, Texas regularly rubs itself with Irish Good Luck, in the form of civic monuments and events to remember the Emerald Isle... A fragment of the original Blarney Stone is imurred within a concrete monument in Shamrock's Elmore Park. This genuine chunk was pried from the ruins of Blarney Castle and given an American home in 1959. The landmark is virtually unchanged today — an SUV-crash-proof cylinder, regularly painted solid green. It doesn't make for great photos, unless a lass happens to stop by to lock lips with the Stone. To assure a steady supply, the town holds a festival each year; Miss Shamrock is crowned around March 17. Worried, perhaps, that panhandle passersby may not stop at the park, Shamrock has erected another Blarney Stone closer to the road. It's taller, embossed with a lovable leprechaun, and helpful instructions: "Kiss this Blarney Stone for Everlasting Good Luck." A horseshoe embedded in the base apparently acts as a Texan Luck Power Booster. The town still holds back on total commitment to the heritage theme: there are no local ordinances demanding the citizenry to wear green, and the water tower stands without a giant Leprechaun.
TEXASCentral Museum of Automotive HistoryRosankyThe museum is located on State Highway 304 about 1 mile northeast of the intersection with Farm to Market Road 535.
TEXASPate Museum of TransportationCressonThe Pate Museum of Transportation is a favorite destination for families, scout troops, and anyone interested in seeing unique transportation curiosities. Driving about 45 miles south of Fort Worth on Highway 377, you will be unable to go past and not notice the WWII-era minesweeper (parked) out in front. Alongside are several old military aircraft and armored vehicles, which can be touched and climbed on. Also outside are train cars and a couple of cast-iron subway entrances from back east, turn-of-the-century. Inside the main building are dozens of antique and one-of-a-kind automobiles, many clean enough to be right off the assembly line. More cars are housed in other buildings, and the collection is rotated often. Near the front is one of the actual Gemini space capsules, a space suit and related materials. Don't miss the operating submarine periscope in the entry hall. The museum is free, and a picnic area and clean restrooms are available. Corny wooden cut-outs stand by as props for the prized family photo. Bring a sack lunch and have a memorable afternoon
TEXASSeminole Indian Scout CemeteryBracketvilleThere is a Seminole Indian Scout cemetery, resting place to the scouts and their descendents. The Indian Scouts served at nearby Ft. Clark until 1914. Four won the Congressional Medal of Honor, and no scout was ever killed or injured in battle. It's a great old cemetery, and the names on the headstones are really poignant
TEXASSyudy Butte Mall WallStudy ButteLocal businesses and artesans paint their ads on individual cinder blocks
TEXASCenter of RT66 signAdrianclaims itself to be the exact center of Route 66, Look for the sign
TEXASLuckenachTown is just a neat place out of the way and a little hard to find. Made famous by the song by Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings. Town in it's entirety was bought by Hondo Crounch in 1970. You go there and figure that one out.
TEXASTwin Butts
TEXASWink Sink HoleWinkor Kermit Crater half way between Kermit & Wink
TEXASWorld's largest Fire HydrantBeaumontFire Museum of Texas
TEXASWorld's largest JackrabbitOdessa
TEXASWorld's largest Killer BeeHidalgoKiller Bees have been around since the 1950s, when some African queens escaped a South American lab and began flirting with the local gentry. Their volatile spawn migrated north, growing nastier with each succeeding generation. In October of 1990, they illegally crossed the U.S. border at Hidalgo, Texas. Most towns would view this occasion with horror, something best left unmentioned in the hope that it would be forgotten. Happily, Hidalgo was blessed with a mayor who knew that killer bees bring honey as well as a sting. John Franz gave the media the buzz: Hidalgo was "Killer Bee Capital of the World" and proud of it. Within two years Franz had wheedled 20 grand from his city's budget to build the World's Largest Killer Bee. Six years have passed. Mayor Franz is still mayor and Hidalgo has been in Time, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Guinness Book of World Records, and a Snapple commercial. Hidalgo sells posters and post cards of the bee, and carts it down Main Street during their annual Border Fest celebration. None of the tourists who wander the streets seem concerned about what, exactly, this town is celebrating. "What other city of 4,000 has something like this?" brags Mayor Franz, sweeping his arm in the direction of his nasty mascot. "We're not going to follow the leaders anymore. We're going to take some chances and get out there in front."
TEXASWorld's Largest MuleBailey County( 22' high, 17' long ) Muleshoe Heritage Center, off US 84
TEXASWorld's largest PeanutParsallactually second largest to the GA peanut
TEXASWorld's largest PecanSequin
TEXASLargest RattlesnakeFreer
TEXASCyclone
TEXASWink
TEXASStonehenge 2Kerrville
TEXASAlmo Classic Car & Bike MuseumSan AntonioN. of San Antonio (I-35)
TEXASAlbany
TEXASAtlanta
TEXASBangs
TEXASBayou Bob's Rattlesnake RanchWeatherfordI-20
TEXASBeer Can HouseHoustonIn 1968, John Milkovisch was just another retired employee of Southern Pacific railroad. He lived in an undistinguished house in an undistinguished suburban neighborhood of Houston. Then John got antsy. He began decorating his patio with pieces of brass, marbles, rocks and buttons. Then he tore up the lawn and replaced it with similar glittery debris. The house itself was next. John took beer cans and flattened them into aluminum siding. Beer cans quickly became John's exclusive medium -- a convenient one, since John drank a lot of beer. He worked on the house for the next 18 years, incorporating a six-pack a day into its adornment -- roughly 39,000 cans. He linked pull-tabs into long streamers to make curtains that chimed when the wind blew. "This curtain idea is just one of those dreams in the back of my noodle," he explained at the time. "John thought beer cured everything," explained Mary, his wife, after John had died. John passed away several years ago but his Beer Can House is still intact. Mary is still here, too, and welcomes visitors. The cans are a record of John's imbibing preferences -- Coors cylinders are sculpted into whirlygigs, while long rows of Texas Pride and various Lite beers make up the walls. Pull tabs tinkle lightly in the breeze, but the only belches you'll hear are your own.
TEXASBeverly Hills
TEXASBlueberry T.W.O. CampgroundAvinger
TEXASBuckhorn Hall of FameSan Antoniodedicated to animal horns including a 4,000 pound chandelier from 4000 deer antlers, Lone Star Brewery
TEXASBuddha
TEXASBuddy Holly StatueLubbock
TEXASCadillac RanchAmarillo
TEXASGage HotelMarathonOpened in 1927 www.gagehotel.com
TEXASCarl's CornerCarl's Cornerweird place, signs and dancing frogs on roof of gas station
TEXASChester Nimitz MuseumFredricksburgNeat Building
TEXASChina
TEXASCoke
TEXASCrockett HotelSan AntonioBuilt 1909
TEXASCut and Shoot
TEXASDeaf Smith
TEXASGiant Xmas TreeJunctionmade from deer horns
TEXASDevil's Rope MuseumMcleanGreat western museum as well as Rt 66. Worth a quick stop
TEXASEmily Morgan HotelSan AntonioBuilt in 1920 http://www.emilymorganhotel.com/home.html
TEXASDan Blocker Memorial HeadO'DonnellHoss Cartright
TEXASEaster Egg MotelTerlinguaGreat place to also stay
TEXASFrontier Times MuseumBanderaLots of Weird stuff
TEXASGene Cockrell's Roadside SculpturesCanadian
TEXASGiant Art GuysHouston14 feet, infront of Union Motor Company at the corner of Shepherd and 22nd Street
TEXASGiant Pair for LegsAmarillo
TEXASGiant Rocking ChairNew Braufelsoutside the Mexican Rocker Café
TEXASGiant ShovelSan Antoniooutside the Lonestar Brewery
TEXASGiant StrawberryPoteetnumerous giant strawberries so look around
TEXASOld Vegas MotelVegaGhost Town of Vega
TEXASGrave of Tripod the DogHuntsville3 legged mascot at Sam houston State U. buried in center of campus
TEXASFingerGlen RosePetrified Finger, Creation Evidences Museum
TEXASSan JoseSan Antomioactually TX has 5 missions. Check out this link Missions
UTAHButch Cassidy HomeCordeville
UTAHCaon
UTAHGolden Spike
UTAHGravity HillsSalt lake CityBehind State Capitol
UTAHHurricane
UTAHHole in the RockMoab
UTAHHollow Mountain Gas StationHanksville
UTAHMetaphorSalt FlatsThe Tree of Utah
UTAHMexican Hat RockMexican Hat
UTAHGrand Vu
UTAHMotel Dine A VilleVernal
UTAHSalt PalaceSalt lake City
UTAHShooting Star SaloonHuntsvilleand Buck the worlds largest dead dog
UTAHThe Great Stone FaceDeserterock
VERMONTBennington MuseumBennington
VERMONTBrigham Young MonumentWhitingham
VERMONTBillings FarmWoodstock
VERMONTBlack Gorilla holding a VWBrandon
VERMONTCalin Coolidge Birth PlacePlymouth
VERMONTCatamount StatueBennington
VERMONTChester A Arthur birth placeFairfield
VERMONTFloating BridgeBrookfield
VERMONTGiant Pig Statue in DragBurlington
VERMONTGiant Metal Winged MonkeysBurlington
VERMONTGorilla Holding a car UpLeicester
VERMONTHubbardton Battlefield & MuseumEast Hubbardton
VERMONTHyde log CabinGrand Isle
VERMONT19 ft Ladderback ChairBennington
VERMONTChin
VERMONTForehead
VERMONTAdams Apple
VERMONTMouth
VERMONTWooden Rocking HorseWinchendon
VERMONTThe StockadePittsfield
VERMONTGranite Quarry and HeadstonesBarreThe world's largest granite quarry & amazing headstones to those who died
VERMONTVermont Marble ExhibitProctor
VERMONTVermont Raptor CenterWoodstock
VERMONTWorld's largest BeeW. Dover800 pounds, in Jerry Costello's back yard
VERMONTThe Shelburn MuseumShelburna must see
VIRGINIASteam Engine & Tender Head StoneRoanoke
VIRGINIAHot Tub State ParkBerkeley SpringsOne of the nice things about Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, is that it appears unchanged in the 15 years we have known it. Indeed, the town conveys the impression that it has not changed much in the past 50 years. That's quite something for a town that dates back to before the American Revolution and regularly receives visitors used to urban life. Town residents have not sought to stylize their community with new facades or souvenir shops. Rather, citizens have built upon existing buildings, making improvements without altering the essence of the town. The movie theater was closed for years, but is now open and offers first-run films. Several clothing and general merchandise shops have been transformed into restaurants where patrons are greeted by the owners or gift shops with unusual gifts. Berkeley Springs continues to feel like a small town. What has made Berkeley Springs a long-time attraction is its hot springs. Native peoples visited the springs until wealthy colonial settlers claimed the area. George Washington and numerous other luminaries soaked in stone-carved hot tubs to unwind from the rigors of military campaigns, politics, and economic transactions. Now, the hot springs are incorporated into a one-block square state park. The park offers separate male and female soaking tubs and massages. Also, nearby Roman baths are available to couples. Several body workers have set up shop on the streets facing the park. Swedish massage, Foot Reflexology, and many other therapies are available. "I feel like a noodle," is an often-heard remark as visitors finish a soak or massage. Up the road from Berkeley Springs is Coolfont, a year-round resort with cabins, soaks and massages, good food, regular cultural events, and the International Water Tasting Competition, held annually in Feb
VIRGINIATowerBig Walker Mountain Overlook
VIRGINIACarroll County Court HouseCarroll County
VIRGINIAKing KongWhite PostDinosaur Land
VIRGINIAGiant AppleWinchester
VIRGINIAGiant SerpentVirginia Beach40ft by 15ft somewhere in Virginia Beach
VIRGINIAGiant SkateBealetonAT Hugo Skate Way rt17
VIRGINIALittle Apple on a StickBedfordRT 460 several miles outside of Bedford
VIRGINIAMountain LakeGiles Countyyou must take a dip at least belt high, atop Salt Pond Mountain
VIRGINIAMuffler Man type SculptureGainesvilleon the southbound side of Rte. 29, about 1 mile south of I-66.
VIRGINIAPure VillageHarrisonburgAKA Village Inn
VIRGINIAWorld's Largest Man-Made StarRoanokelarge Illuminated Star - easy to see - a little work to get to it!
VIRGINIABull Run CastleAldie
VIRGINIAMayberry StationFancy Gap
VIRGINIAThe Tin ManPulaskiPulaski Tinning, 2.5 miles off I-81, 22 miles s on Route 11
VIRGINIAThe Big PencilWythevilleWytheville Office Supply, 2 miles on Route 11
VIRGINIAThe Famous Chicken SignChristianburg
VIRGINIAMilk Bottle BuildingRichmondLocated at Adams and Marshall in Downtown Richmond. Old Curles' Neck dairy building abandoned years ago was used in the mid-80s as artist studios. Fallen deeper into disrepair over the years, slated for renovation several times. As of June 1999, the building has been gutted, three walls (and the three milk bottles) remain. It is being converted to mid price apartments, with some luxury lofts. Rumor has it that the high end lofts will be inside the actual milk bottles
VIRGINIAThe RhinocerosBedfordroadside RT 460
VIRGINIAThe Coffee Pot BuildingBuena VistaHwy 60 between Lexington & Buena Vista
VIRGINIAGrave of Edgar Allen Poes' motherRichmondSt. James Church Other notables
VIRGINIAWhite HorseNarrowsAt White Horse Antiques
VIRGINIAHead of a MuleLawrencevilleThe head of a mule, in full harness. That is how it died and that is how it remains, Ace Harware, E.E. Vaughn & Son
VIRGINIAThe Trapezium HousePetersburgno right angles as right angles are haunted? ca 1700's
VIRGINIAWorld's Largest Collection of Cement OrnamentsLynchburgConcrete World on Hwy 29, 8 miles S of town & across the street from South Lynchburg Truck Stop
VIRGINIAAntietam Battleground MuseumLexingtonan arm of a civil war soldier
VIRGINIAVirginia military Institute MuseumLexingtonhome of Little Sorrel, Stonewall Jacksons Horse
WASHINGTONBenewah Milk BottleSpokaneA favorite and familiar landmark in Spokane, Washington, the Benewah Milk Bottle is an example of the concept of literalism in advertising. Completed in 1935, the bottle is stuccoed from its base to that section which tapers to the neck. The neck itself and cap are covered with sheet metal over a wooden frame. The entire structure originally was painted white. Owner Paul E. Newport built two such milk bottles as retail outlets for his thriving Benewah Dairy Company. His advertising stated that the bottles were "designed to build better men and women by making dairy products attractive to boys and girls. No expense will be spared to make these new stores as sturdy as fine, and as good as the products they represent." To mark the opening of the new milk bottle stores, Newport sponsored a soap box derby on Post Hill, an event that was enjoyed by thousands of young people.
WASHINGTONWorld's Largest EggWinlockalso 11" but less than 3000lbs and on a 10ft pole
WASHINGTONMarsh's Free MuseumLong BeachJake the Alligator Man
WASHINGTONMarti's Ash CreationMorton
WASHINGTONJimmy Hendrix ViewpointSeattle
WASHINGTONChinook
WASHINGTONHumptulips
WASHINGTONMt. St. Helen
WASHINGTONPacific Mothball FleetBremertonPuget Sound Naval Ship Yard
WASHINGTONThe Running Fishing BoySeiku
WASHINGTONTeapot Dome Gas StationZillahLocated on Old State Highway 12 in Zillah, Washington, the Teapot Dome Service Station was built in 1922. A circular frame building with conical roof, sheet-metal "handle," and concrete "spout," it is an example of the roadside architectural follies built during the expansion of the national highway system in the 1920s and 1930s. Selling oil products from a teapot-shaped structure was intended as a humorous reminder of the Teapot Dome scandals that rocked President Warren G. Harding's administration (1921-1923). That controversy sent U.S. Secretary of the Interior Albert Fall to prison for leasing government oil reserves in Teapot Dome, Wyoming, and Elk Hills, California, to private producers. The Teapot Dome station continues to operate as a full service gas station and is a familiar sight to travelers in eastern Washington
WASHINGTONCodger PoleColfaxThe Codger Pole Between Hwy's 12 and 127 between rolling green hills, Gaia's attractive pagan buttocks, toward Colfax. Signs direct you to the Codger Pole, a sixty-five-foot tall chain saw sculpture commemorating a 1988 high school football rematch -- played fifty years after the first game by the same participants. The pole is actually a fagot of five separate wooden columns, with the heads of all the golden-aged players carved into them. Town fathers have done a great job displaying and publicizing the Codger Pole, perhaps because town fathers are the very people portrayed.
WASHINGTONThe Freemont TrollSeattleunder the Aurora Bridge
WASHINGTONAnother smallest ChurchElbe
WASHINGTONWorld's largest Frying PanLong Beach
WASHINGTONYe Old Curiosity ShoppeSeattleNorth of Pioneer Square, 1001 Alaskan Way, Pier 54 Ye Olde Curiosity Shoppe has been here since 1899, and thrives on an urban waterfront crowded with vacationers by day, and the friendly Seattle homeless by night
WASHINGTONSam Hill's StonehengeMaryville
WASHINGTONChestSeattleYe Olde Curiosity Shop
WASHINGTONWhitman MissionWalla Walla
WEST VIRGINIAPrasbhupada's Palace of GoldNew Vrindaban
WEST VIRGINIAThe TeapotChesterCarolina Ave A time warp spot and a must find, while it remains!
WEST VIRGINIAThe White ChickenPeterstownAt Mutt's Trading Post
WEST VIRGINIAHurricane
WEST VIRGINIAMonasteryMorgantownJesus,Duct tape & Eroded Eyeballs, wooded path behind monastery
WEST VIRGINIAanother Smallest ChurchHorse Shoe Run
WISCONSINBehn's Game Farm and Wibert's HeadAniwa
WISCONSINBessie the CowJanesville
WISCONSINCarl's Wood Art MuseumEagle Riverhe carved a heck of a lot of wood, now dead, but the museum goes on and full of odd carvings
WISCONSINChili PeppermobileMilwaukee24 to 30 feet. Owned by owner of La Fuente Mexican Restaurant Good hunting
WISCONSINCircus CemeteryDelavanhas colorful markers of late circus performers,( one performer is reportedly buried 12" below ground in a glass coffin as he was claustrophobic- weird
WISCONSINFred Smith's Concrete ParkPhillipsalongside a highway in Phillips, a jumbled crowd of some two hundred folk art figurines clog the landscape. In 1950, at age 65, this north woods lumberjack, tavern owner and self-taught sculptor began crafting his entourage of cowboys, miners , indians, and soldiers. His first masterpiece was inspired by the image of a large antlered deer leaping over a log that he had noticed on a boy's sweater. He used beer bottles from his tavern to decorate the life-size concrete horde, which mostly crowds the front of the park along Hwy. 13. The concrete people are broad-shouldered and blocky. Some ride horses or drive teams of oxen; others stand in long rows, the sun glinting off of their glassy armor. Ben Hur and a distorted angel loom among their followers. Two wedding parties wonder who invited the coolies
WISCONSINGarden of Metal DinosaursMarshfieldVery little known site in Wisconsin that is very strange and interesting. Not many people know about it, even people from this area. About 5 miles outside of Marshfield, Wisconsin on Highway E, you come to Sugarbush Lane. It is a U road, which means it just goes around and connects back to Highway E. But on this road there is a strange garden of metal dinosaurs, some huge, some small, that the owner of the house has built over the past course of his lifetime. Sometimes he'll be outside to greet visitors to his strange oasis, and if you ask him why he built them, he'll tell you, "What do you mean why did I build them? I found 'em here, they've been living in this marsh for thousands of years."
WISCONSINGiant FrogLake Geneva
WISCONSINGiant MooseBlack River Falls
WISCONSINGiant DeerBalck River Falls
WISCONSINHalfway between the Equator and the North PoleCadott?????
WISCONSINHamburger Hall of FameSeymour
WISCONSINHiawathaLa Crosse
WISCONSINHoly Ghost GrottoDickeyvilleUS 151 & Main St. and of course Dickeyville (very unique!)
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Floating LoonMercer
WISCONSINThe Little White School HouseRiponHome of The Republican Party
WISCONSINHouse on the RockSpring Greenflat out wierd and a terrible momstrosity, A Must
WISCONSINJames Bond Style Safe House BarMilwaukeeYou must enter thru a phone booth, 779 N. front Street
WISCONSINMass PanicLake Daltonvery weird, along Lake Dalton
WISCONSINMeridian ParkJacksonport92 acre park located exactly half way between the equator & N Pole
WISCONSINTwelve Corners
WISCONSINFour Corners
WISCONSINKickapoo
WISCONSINReally Big AppleJanesvilleI-90 east of Janesville (exit 163 Route 59)
WISCONSINRock in the HouseFountain Citya giant rock smashed into the house and it is now a tourist attractions just as it was when the house was squished
WISCONSINSchooner Lottie CooperSheboyganwas wrecked in April of 1896 just off Sheboygan, in a roaring gale. The wreckage was found buried in Sheboygan Harbor during the construction of the Harbor Marina. The wreckage was recovered and is now on display on Sheboygan's lake front. Numerous signs and drawings give the visitor a view of what a 19th century lake schooner was like. The display, the only one of it kind on the Great Lakes, is outdoors and free! From I-43 take Hwy 23 into Sheboygan and then follow the signs to the Harbor Marina
WISCONSINThe Dead Pals of Sam SanfillippoMadison
WISCONSINThe Mona Lisa BarnCornellon WI 64 about 9 muiles east of Cornell
WISCONSINThunderbird MuseumHatfieldold weird crap
WISCONSINSissy the CowDe Forest
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Grandfather ClockKewaunee20' to 25 ' tall outside clock shop on Route 42 downtown
WISCONSINWegner's GrottoCataract (?)
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Beer SteinBlack River Falls
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Collection of Circus WagonsBaraboo
WISCONSINWorld's Largest FishHaywarda Muskie four and a half stories high and half a city block long National Freshwater Hall of Fame
WISCONSINWorld's Largest PennyWorld's
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Six PackLa Crosse
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Replica CheeseNeilsville
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Talking CowNeilsvilleChatty Belle
WISCONSINWorld's Largest Can of Hormel ChiliBeloitI-90
WISCONSINWorld's Tallest Grandfather ClockKewauneeSvooda Industries
WISCONSINStatue of Horse and the PenisAppletonYikes. You figure this one out! Appleton: you've gotta get off the highway and hit town, but if you do, you'll find a HUGE statue of a horse pressing his head against an erect penis. You think I'm joking? It's a piece of modern art; however, I've never known anyone to refer to it as anything but "the horse and the penis"I
WISCONSINPrairie Moon MuseumCochrane
WISCONSINNat'l Fresh Water Fishing Hall of FameHayward
WISCONSINMount Horeb Mustard MuseumMount Horeb
WISCONSINEAA Air Adventure MuseumOshkosh
WISCONSINSnowmobile MuseumSayneras well as outboard motors
WYOMINGAtlantic CityThis is a town that time has passed by. A must if in the area!
WYOMINGAmes Brothers PyramidLaramieBig and a neat find
WYOMINGBranding Iron Auto LodgeLaramie
WYOMINGMedicine WheelBurgess Junction20 miles beyound Burgess Junction is a 3 miles bumpy gravel road leading to this very old and unexplained Indian ruin
WYOMINGMother Featherlegs MonumentLuskonly monument to a prostitute, S of Lusk
WYOMINGFour Corners
WYOMINGGreat Head of Abe LincolnLaramieI-80
WYOMINGRawlings Territorial PrisonRawlingshas a Tour, includes total darkness tour
WYOMINGGenoaThe Wonder Tree
WYOMINGOld Trail TownThe entire place is full of authentic old west stuff including the oldest inscribed dated rock, 1811, The Hole in the Wall Cabin used by Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid as well as the grave of Jeremiah Johnson.
WYOMINGShoes Made of Skin of Big Nose GeorgeRawlinsCarbon County Museum

In Archive